Sausage Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I used both rainbow and wheat penne, along with fresh spinach. Very nice flavor and good eye candy as well. A recommended dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moggy
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
4 stars as is 5 stars with changes. I read all the reviews and took some suggestions as well as using my own experience cooking the way my family likes things. I browned 1 1/2 pounds hot sausage and removed it from the pan. Then added the onions one chopped bell pepper, 2 teaspoons of fennel, 1 1/2 tea basil, a pinch of crushed red pepper and the garlic. Once the vegetables were softened I added 2 tablespoons of flour and cooked just until the raw flour taste cooked away, about 2 minutes. Then I added 1/2 cup of dry red wine, 2 14.5 oz cans of diced tomatoes with the juice, 1 1/2 teaspoons of Better Than Bouillon chicken stock base and just a little bit of water. I returned the sausage to the pan added a 5oz container of fresh baby spinach and covered the pan keeping it on low heat while I prepared the pasta. I also seasoned to taste with a small amount of salt and freshly ground black pepper. I placed the pasta in the bowls and topped it with the sausage mixture and a mixture of shaved Parmesan and Romano cheese. Hubby raved about it and asked that I be sure and write down exactly what I did so I can make it many more times in the future. :) Thanks for a great base recipe! Next time I'd like to add some zucchini ~ I forgot to pick some up this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
So easy!! I only had mild Italian sausage so I think the addition of red pepper flakes would have added some spiciness, but overall, I thought it was very good. I made sure I pressed some of the juice out of the spinach so the dish wouldn't be watery. I used Bob Evans Italian Sausage which has no grease to drain, so olive oil is a must when cooking the sausage. I had some fresh basil on hand, so I used that. I think fresh Parmesan cheese would have been wonderful, but all I had was Kraft in the jar.This is a good meal to make when you come home from work tired and you don't feel like cooking. You can serve this to company with some Italian bread and you have a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I made this for a family of four. Everyone liked it. Probably is not on the "favorite thing ever" list, but a good meal, good presenation, pleasant taste that works. I made it according to the directions with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Made this tonight and my husband and I both loved it, and it was so easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Try this recipe with cheese tortellini! Awesome! I used dried oregano, smoked paprika, and fennel to give it a little more dimension - but otherwise followed the recipe. Great even for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Loved it! I used hot Italian turkey sausage...rave reviews from my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This dish has become a rotating special in our house. When I'm stumped on what to make, this recipe always comes to mind. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I cooked this and it was amazing!! I usually changed to my liking but with this recipe I changed nothing. Thank you it was a great and quick dinner to put together. The sausage I used was home made Italian. That's because I have a friend who makes it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Perez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This dish is delicious and easy. I made almost exact but with fresh spinach (10oz bag). If you use fresh, remove the stems. I agree with another reviewer that using hot sausage is important for flavor. I didn't start cooking the whole wheat rotini until all but the spinach was cooking. I added the spinach, mixed until wilted and then added the pasta. So good. I made again and wanted leftovers so I used 1.5 lbs sausage, 1lb pasta and extra chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 823) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States