Sausage Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
i made this for dinner tonight and I just thought it was ok- the spice in the sausage added a kick but it needed more in my opinion. I added some salt, more basil and ended up with some heavy cream to thicken up the sauce. I think mushrooms would be good in this and maybe some more cheese like mozzarella melted into the sauce. Took much longer cooking times than recipe recommended to get sauce to reduce down as others have mentioned. I think less stock or drain the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Wow! this is really good and very easy and simple. I used 1/2 hot and 1/2 sweet sausage and fresh spinach and a little less chicken broth. Also, I cooked the onion with the sausage and let it all simmer longer than suggested, but all in all the flavors were amazing. This will be in my recipe box for a quick, easy meal for last minute company or just for us! Served in bowls over the past with a homemade focaccia bread. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
My husband and I both loved this recipe. It is a nice change from using a heavier sauce with our pasta. The only thing I changed was to use sweet sausage due to personal preference. This is now in my dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windsbud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middle Island, New York, USA
Living In: Dix Hills, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Made this last night and it was a huge hit! My husband and 2 teenage boys loved it. I used regular italian sausage and fresh spinach with bowtie pasta. Excellent! I let it simmer for about 20 minutes before adding the pasta and spinach and I did not think it was too watery. Next time I am going to add mushrooms. This had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This is absolutely fantastic, and a great base for pasta dishes in general. I eat this all of the time. However, I change it up a tad bit. I use fresh spinach and turkey sausage. I tend to skip the parmesan and the chicken broth, but either way it tastes good. Canned diced tomatoes make your dish a bit watery, so if you don't like that, I suggest adding a teaspoon or two or corn starch to thicken it up. You can also bu red cherry (or grape) tomatoes and cut them in half and throw them in the frying pan instead. If you want some more vegetables, I find that mushrooms really enhance the flavor of this dish (I prefer crimini or baby portobello as they have an earthier and stronger taste). Throw in some parsley and/or chives to top it off. And if you like mozzarella, some fresh mozzarella in the end takes the dish to a whole new level! An amazingly tasty dish and one that is easily changed and played around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I gave it five stars though i did make some changes. i had some left over spaghetti sauce i made and thats what i used instead of a can of diced tomatoes/spices. other than that i just added mushroom with the spinach and sausage (I used turkey sausage), and served it with angel hair pasta. it tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I am always looking for a new, quick recipe to add to our rotation. This one fit the bill. Lots of flavor, easy to prepare and just delicious. I will say, this recipe is easy to alter to your tastes and likely should be altered depending on your target audience. I found it to be a touch on the spicy side for kids but by no means "hot". Mild italian sausage might be best for the lil' ones. Veggie wise, I would at a minimum recommend adding some fresh mushrooms to the onions when cooking. I would likely use a bit of fresh zuchinni next time as well. Also, do not be scared to use all the spinach. I added 12oz. of fresh spinach and it looked like a crazy amount when I tossed it in but within 5 minutes is was cooked and hard to find. When my two young daughters ate it, they were surprised how good it was. Also, a touch of salt is good for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Easy and excellent. Makes about 4 servings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This recipe was too bland for me....I followed it exactly but ended up adding more seasoning, basil, oregano,Rosemary, parsley, white pepper, sage, savory, cayenne, thyme and a few more. and eventually made a tomatoe sauce with mushrooms to add which made this pretty good. I probably would make this again but my way....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I used fresh basil, broccoli, chicken, and the sausage! It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Dolby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 821) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States