Sausage 'N' Apple Baked Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This was really really great! I'm vegetarian, and I substituted veggie sausage for meat, I also added chopped celery. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This tasted great and was a fun way to use up some of our abundant acorn squash. Instead of apples, I used an apple chutney I had on hand. Perhaps due to this, the sausage took a lot longer to cook. Next time, I'll brown the sausage first and precook the squash by itself for 30min. Overall, worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it was in the oven in 30 minutes (would have been sooner if I hadn't saved squash seeds for later). The squash I had were a little on the large side, so I should probably make a little more stuffing next time, but it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I used fake meat in this because I'm vegetarian. Other than that, I followed the recipe as is and it was pretty great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I'd probably give this 4.5 stars. It was quite good; the apples and onions are a nice addition to a fall favorite. When I made it, I skipped the bread crumbs and don't feel they are really necessary. I also added more apple and onion than called for, and a bit of thyme. Used a lower fat ground sausage, which worked fine. Everything came out perfectly with the cooking method, times and temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris H
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I made this and it was just okay. We didn't like the onion and sage mixed with the squash flavor at all. I think this recipe would be better if you made it sweeter and left out the onion/sage. It looks fantastic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This was just okay. I added turkey sausage, but no other changes. Just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
a savoury fall recipe! I used the full amount for the stuffing but only one acorn squash (I like lots of stuffing). I had to bake for amount an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
followed recipe exactly, looked beautiful. My family just didn't like the taste of this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Delicious! I used maple sausage links. Cut the apples into lg pieces as they tend to melt down when cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States