Sausage 'N' Apple Baked Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This was really really great! I'm vegetarian, and I substituted veggie sausage for meat, I also added chopped celery. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This tasted great and was a fun way to use up some of our abundant acorn squash. Instead of apples, I used an apple chutney I had on hand. Perhaps due to this, the sausage took a lot longer to cook. Next time, I'll brown the sausage first and precook the squash by itself for 30min. Overall, worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it was in the oven in 30 minutes (would have been sooner if I hadn't saved squash seeds for later). The squash I had were a little on the large side, so I should probably make a little more stuffing next time, but it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I used fake meat in this because I'm vegetarian. Other than that, I followed the recipe as is and it was pretty great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I'd probably give this 4.5 stars. It was quite good; the apples and onions are a nice addition to a fall favorite. When I made it, I skipped the bread crumbs and don't feel they are really necessary. I also added more apple and onion than called for, and a bit of thyme. Used a lower fat ground sausage, which worked fine. Everything came out perfectly with the cooking method, times and temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris H
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I made this and it was just okay. We didn't like the onion and sage mixed with the squash flavor at all. I think this recipe would be better if you made it sweeter and left out the onion/sage. It looks fantastic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This was just okay. I added turkey sausage, but no other changes. Just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
a savoury fall recipe! I used the full amount for the stuffing but only one acorn squash (I like lots of stuffing). I had to bake for amount an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
followed recipe exactly, looked beautiful. My family just didn't like the taste of this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Delicious! I used maple sausage links. Cut the apples into lg pieces as they tend to melt down when cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States