Sausage Mushroom Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I didn't make this exact recipe. But I was looking for a good quiche recipe to make with what I had (and have never ventured into quiche territory)and so I tinkered and referenced this recipe with the recipe for the spinach mushroom Quiche. This really helped me create a quiche that met my personal needs. This was great to use as reference as well as all the comments and reviews. Clearly we can tell that making a quiche is not hard and that we can tinker with ingredients. The important part is the milk/egg/cheese ratio. I used 1/2 c of half and half, and 4 eggs, fresh broccoli and fresh spinach (steamed), fresh mushrooms and green onion fried with butter, garlic and dried onion. It was a veggie heavy filling delight with 2 cups of cheese, and a frozen pie shell. It's not the same recipe here at all, but I think as a reference to help me on the path is worthy of five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Sooo good! Made for a light dinner for mom and I. Used turkey sausage (1 lb) and used half cream, half milk to reduce the fat. All of the ingredients fit into one deep dish pie crust, not sure why some reviewers had problems with this. I also prebaked my pie crust for ten minutes, sprinkled a handful of cheddar cheese on the bottom and poured the rest of the mixture in. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2Be!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
My whole family liked this! Good tips from others on using half the filling. I made a few other modifications as well. I used a frozen pie crust and put 1/2 cup of shredded cheese in the bottom. This will take care of the soggy crust issue. I also added one more egg and cut cream in half. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
sausage & mushroom were a nice change from the usual ham or bacon. i served this as a breakfast quiche, but my family would happily eat it any time! thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAHSMOMX3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I took this quiche to work and everyone loved it. I added onions and used 1/4 cup parmesan and 1/4 cup monterrey jack. Also I had to cook it for about 10 to 15 minutes longer than the directions called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Well, I used this recipe as a springboard for ingredients I had on hand. Instead of the mushrooms, I used chopped green peppers and onions. Instead of salt, I used ground mustard. Also, instead of half and half, I used skim milk. I did have a bit too much filling for the pie crust. So next time, I may reduce the amount of milk. It was a great, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I thought this was pretty good, but nobody else did. I used vegetarian hot dogs, and sauteed one onion and two cloves of garlic to the skillet. That really adds a lot. I'd also recommend adding some black pepper and basil. This isn't bad, just nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Yum. I had portobello mushrooms on hand which made this even better! Other than that I made pretty much as stated; watching my diet so only had fat-free half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Very very good! The only thing I changed was the sausage. I used reduced fat pork sausage. I personally think you don't need to add the 1/4 tsp. of salt becuase the sausage gives it enough salt flavor. Also I think I may use a deep dish crust next time because it was too full with just the regular crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
So good! I added extra cheese (Mexican blend) and extra mushroom, which make it more filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States