Sausage Mushroom Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was my first time to make a quiche. This recipe is AMAZING!! I followed some others suggestions. I pre-baked my pie crust for 10 minutes, I added a half a cup of cheese to the bottom of the pie shell, I added one additional egg, and I used swiss cheese. I was able to get all of the mixture into a deep dish pie crust...barely. My boyfriend and I ate this for dinner (I put some hot sauce on mine before eating) -- he even went back for seconds. Thanks for the awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I made this yesterday for a birthday brunch and everyone liked it. I substituted the sausage with spicy turkey sausage. I also used shredded colby/jack cheese instead of parmesan because I like this kind of cheese better. Sorry to have tweaked the recipe a little bit, but it provided a very good starting point and the texture of the quiche was very good. I took the advice of other reviewers and baked pie shell for 5 minutes, also I added the shredded cheese to bottom of pie shell before putting in the quiche mixture. It baked in about 36-40 minutes and I didn't have a problem with the edges of pie dough being to dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidihh1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This was very tasty. I sauteed my mushrooms with garlic and added spinach. Also, instead of breakfast sausages I used Sweet Italian sausages. I will make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julnlisha is a cook!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Springfield, New Jersey, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
(I made this a while ago and forgot to rate it so my memory is not real fresh, sorry) This was good. I used spicy ground sausage in mine and cut my mushrooms in thick slices. I made this for another family and got lots of compliments on it and a request for another. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Sorry, but this was nothing special!! I'll stick to my stuffed mushrooms with sausage and cream cheese recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This was great! One of the first times I made a quiche and *everything* fit in the pie shell beautifully. The only changes I made were adding onions with the sausage and mushrooms and a 1-to-1 substitution of half & half for evaporated milk. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
My family loved this. I used spinach instead of parsly. I also added garlic and onions to the sausage and mushrooms. I used a 5 cheese itallian blend instead of the parm. I found it easier if you layer the egg, cheese, and sausage/mushroom mixture and it came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I didn't make this exact recipe. But I was looking for a good quiche recipe to make with what I had (and have never ventured into quiche territory)and so I tinkered and referenced this recipe with the recipe for the spinach mushroom Quiche. This really helped me create a quiche that met my personal needs. This was great to use as reference as well as all the comments and reviews. Clearly we can tell that making a quiche is not hard and that we can tinker with ingredients. The important part is the milk/egg/cheese ratio. I used 1/2 c of half and half, and 4 eggs, fresh broccoli and fresh spinach (steamed), fresh mushrooms and green onion fried with butter, garlic and dried onion. It was a veggie heavy filling delight with 2 cups of cheese, and a frozen pie shell. It's not the same recipe here at all, but I think as a reference to help me on the path is worthy of five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Sooo good! Made for a light dinner for mom and I. Used turkey sausage (1 lb) and used half cream, half milk to reduce the fat. All of the ingredients fit into one deep dish pie crust, not sure why some reviewers had problems with this. I also prebaked my pie crust for ten minutes, sprinkled a handful of cheddar cheese on the bottom and poured the rest of the mixture in. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2Be!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
My whole family liked this! Good tips from others on using half the filling. I made a few other modifications as well. I used a frozen pie crust and put 1/2 cup of shredded cheese in the bottom. This will take care of the soggy crust issue. I also added one more egg and cut cream in half. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Easy Quiche

A delicious, quick-and-easy quiche with broccoli, ham, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States