Sausage Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I've been making a version of this for several years. This is the first time I have added sausage to the mix. I will make them this way from now on. I took a batch to work last Friday and they were a huge hit. I had lots of requests for the recipe. Good thing I have internet access at work so that I could eailsy print the recipe. Here are some of the tips that I handed out to my fellow co-workers....be sure to use rubber gloves when handling peppers. Also, to reduce the "pepper fumes" in the air, fill your sink with water, float the peppers in the water. Working with a sharp knife and a spoon, slice them in half length wise and use the spoon to scoop out the seeds and veins. Do all of this under the water or you will cough hysterically! I learned this from experience many years ago. I also added about 1/2 cup of shredded sharp cheddar and a few sliced green onions to my cream cheese stuffing mix. Most people were surprised that these were actually very mild and quite tasty without a mouth of fire. I suspose, if you wanted some heat you could leave the veins or add some of the seeds back to your stuffing mix. ENJOY :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
471 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
What a hit with everyone at the party! The reviewer who mentioned brushing the bacon with honey before wrapping the pepper was right on! It adds that background flavor that makes people wonder. Also, added cayenne for some extra heat to the sausage/cream cheese mixture. My peppers were somewhat mild so this punched up the flavor a bit. I used a convection oven to bake the peppers and even that didn't crisp the bacon as much as I would have liked. Next time I'll microwave the bacon slightly before I wrap the peppers. Thanks for the recipe -- I'll make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Riestenberg Reeder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I have made this recipe for three different parties, and each time, have been asked for the recipe. This is a fantastic appetizer. I have not been able to make it in less than 60 minutes, so it is time consuming, but worth every second. A few suggestions: wear a mask while scrapping the peppers (after about 15 peppers, it has the effects of pepper spray); wear gloves if possible; I used reduced fat sausage and reduced fat cream cheese and it was still delicious; I precook the bacon in the microwave for about 45 seconds (for 8 pieces) to try to reduce the fat and ensure the bacon is not limp after baking. Enjoy this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
these are great. I have made them many times now and everyone allways loves them. To battle the grease issue I partially cook the bacon in the microwave on paper towels first. This also helps to get the bacon nice and brown quicker in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerrilynn

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
These were sooo good. You will need more bacon than listed (consider 30 jalapenos cut in half=60 individual appetizers=60 bacon 1/2's) and they do take time, but so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
Made these for a Super Bowl Party. A huge hit. They were gone before some of the guests even arrived. My daughter said a friend of hers makes them all the time. She soaks the bacon in honey before she wraps the peppers. That sounds really good too. This will be a repeat recipe for sure! Addition Sept. 4, 2005...I made 100 of these yesterday for a golf party. I made them w/o the sausage. I dipped the bacon in honey before wrapping the peppers. OMG they were soooo good! They were gone before my husband even got any. I ended up making another batch today just so he could have some. I'm sure these will be requested quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
Thank you for this receipe! I get so tired of all the fried foods and this is fairly quick and they froze well too..... I made half with the sausage the others were just as wonderful without. I served at graduation party, everyone from teenagers to grandparents raved and wanted me to share the receipe! LOVED IT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.M. Nebraska

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
I have to admit I got confused by the directions. It said it made 60 appetizers, but cutting bacon in HALF only yields 30 slices. Whatever. They got average reviews from our Super Bowl guests, but have inspired me to venture out on my own and create something better. So thanks for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
Took this to the concert picnic. Was told to bring it next week! Huge hit with everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
Made these for New Year's and they kicked butt!!! I did need an extra pack of bacon and they were a touch greasy. Next time I will use a rack or some crumpled foil. Also I cooked them longer than the recipe stated. YUMMY!! Everyone wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shay 74

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States