Sausage Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Simply Amazing! I made these for our office potluck. I was new and wanted to make a good impression. They were the crowd favorite and now I'm recognized as jalapeno popper Nancy, lol. Everyone wanted the recipe. I did add 1/4 tsp. of cayenne pepper and 4 chopped green onions to the cheese mix as well as precooked the bacon and brushed a bit of honey to it before wrapping it. I found the wrapping the pepper with the precooked bacon was a bit difficult, so I ended up just placing a strip lengthwise on top of the jalapeno. Still looked, smelled, and tasted amazingly! Now there is no turning back with requests for these at every company event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brawley, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Good make-ahead appetizer! I assembled them and refrigerated them overnight, and added 10 minutes to the cooking time. I used reduced fat sausage and reduced fat cream cheese. I added a cup of reduced fat shredded cheddar to the filling. I didn't wear gloves when cutting the jalapenos. It wasn't until 30 minutes later that my skin started to burn (for the next 12 hours). I had to be extremely creative in finding a way to take out my contact lenses! So bottom line, as nice as it is to save a dollar, the gloves are probably a good investment. Besides that, I'll make these again. They'd be good for company and they hold up well in the fridge overnight before baking. Very attractive little snacks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I make this however, I put the raw sausage in the jalapenos and sprinkle onion and garlic powder on it...wrap in raw maple bacon...gives great flavor. In the summer we cook them on the grill, in the winter bake in the oven about 375 until sauasage and bacon are cooked and peppers are less hot the longer you cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I like to precook the bacon and crumble it right into the filling as well as adding a little shredded cheese and fresh cilantro if I have it. I precook the jalapenos for just a few minutes before filling them then popping under the broiler until the cheese is bubbly. Problem solved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
These are very good, but the bacon never gets done as quickly as the recipes suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WayneinAzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Azle, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe but needs clarification as to cook time and fill amount. I followed the recipe exactly and these are my findings: 1) FILL AMOUNT: Very hard to fill 60 half jalapenos without knowing how much to fill them. My advice would be to fill them so they're more than filled flat but don't try to hump the filling to reconstruct the size of the original jalapeno. A gentle arc over the top for each one will fill them all. First time I had too much filling; second time I had too little. 2) COOK TIME: The bacon needs far more than 20 minute (like 45 here) to crisp. Basically after that time I took them out but they were still soggy on one side. I honestly think you need to turn these to get the bacon crisp. I used a large turkey size roasting pan wrapped in foil, and a flat rack sitting on top, so the bacon grease would drain. You DO NOT want the poppers lying around in the bacon fat or they will not bake, they will attempt to fry and won't get hot enough to do so. Even on a rack, bacon remained soggy. I wonder if I should have used higher heat. Also, with this arrangement I still needed to cook these in two batches. I used "thick" bacon. I used "breakfast sausage," locally made, and in a plastic tube, singly wrapped (ie., no casing). I used fairly large sized jalapenos. SUMMARY: Once you have figured out the cook time and fill level, you will have an excellent jalapeno popper. Feeds an army.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
me and my husband love this recipe wont change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
These were a hit at our swim party. I did pre-cook the bacon in the microwave then finished it up in the oven. There were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Love this recipe but I do agree with others that you should cook your bacon slightly before. Turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
OMG!!! is all I have to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States