Sausage Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Great recipe...I found a jalapeno baking rack at amazon($14), that lets you cook them upright! Just cut the tops off, core them, stuff, wrap with bacon...enjoy. Also, to help cut down on the grease I partially cooked the bacon in the frying pan, then used a paper towel to soak up the excess grease before wrapping around the pepper.Yummy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Boyst

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clayton, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
SOOOO rocking good! I put a little tiny bit of maple syrup on top of each popper before putting them in the oven. It made them the perfect mix of salty and sweet. Can't stop eating these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Team McQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
SO GOOD!!! Stuffing jalapenos is what I call a labor of food love, but this recipe is worth the time and effort. I cut the recipe in half for two of us, but I accidentally used a full piece of bacon on each jalapeno, which, as my husband said, was not a bad mistake at all. The jalapenos at the market happened to be huge, so a full piece of bacon covered each half perfectly without toothpicks. To the cream cheese mixture I added ground garlic and onion, salt, cilantro, green onion, and some shredded cheddar cheese. I baked these on a rack at 375 degrees for about 55 minutes. I was concerned that the cream cheese filling would run out, but it did not. For those who have not worked with fresh chilies before, get yourself a box of rubber gloves before you make this recipe. I also wear glasses and sometimes wear a mask over my nose and mouth if the chilies are particularly hot. Cutting them under water is an excellent method. I find that with a glove on, I can easily scrape the insides out with my thumbnail. You don't fully respect the power of these little guys until they hurt you, and then the pain lasts for hours. This includes touching them and inhaling the fumes. Beware that they have oils in them so that even after you wash your hands, you can still rub your eye and be in trouble. I have learned all of this the hard way. Just be cautious! Thanks so much for the excellent recipe. These are a real treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Turned out absolutely perfect! Lots of work but they were a big hit :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoRn11

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I just tried this recipe and I was really surprised how easy it was. I halved the recipe because it was just me and my son that will eat them. I added a little ranch dressing mix and diced red, orange, and yellow bell pepper only because I had it sitting in the fridge. I think the additions for this recipe are only limited by your imagination. I followed other reviewers ideas about microwaving the bacon first. Easy to do and delicious. Thanks for this keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I've made sooo many different kind of poppers but when i made these everyone went crazy over them!! Very good flavors, very good recipe. Two thumbs up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
i made this to take to my new inlaws bbq. I was nervous- but they went over great. i was told i had to bring these to every bbq they throw! yeah. helpful hint tho- wear gloves!!! slice under water to keep fumes from getting into your eyes. also cook bacon just a little longer in microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tyna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pattonsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This is how I make my Poppers. The only difference with mine is that I throw them on the grill. This is the BEST recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This isa great Super Bowl treat!! I like to add a little Lowry;s Seasoning salt and a touch of garlic..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I have been making these for years! They are excellent.We call them Armadillo Eggs because we use a whole slice of bacon to wrap them, and when they cook down in the oven the look like egg shaped armadillo shells, lol. Also have found at my parties that the guys love to pile these on a burger! The nice thing is if you are making them for people who can't handle jalapenos, you can substitute any kind of peppers. I have used banana peppers, goat horns, anahiems, pablanos, anything. The pablanos are hotter than a bell pepper but not a great deal, they are much larger, we have made them as an entree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anmoore, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States