Sausage Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I am making these wonderful poppers as I write this. I go to a neighborhood bar on the weekends to watch football. About a year ago I brought these poppers and WOW what a response. These and my banana cupcakes are the most requested things that I make. When I get there at about 3:00 today it will be standing room only. The owner of the bar lets me bring them (even though he has a kitchen and serves "bar food") because they are so popular and he does a ton of business because I bring good eats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I made this yesterday it was a hit with the family. I did precook bacon in microwave as suggested and that caused shrinkage so I cut the bacon in half and placed over the top. Worked great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I have made this recipe a ton of times and everyone loves it! I also struggled with soft bacon so I kept tweaking it. I do not wrap them in bacon anymore. Instead, while they are cooking I fry and crumble the bacon. I grate 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese into a bowl and then add the (cooled) bacon. The last five minutes of baking I add the cheese and bacon mixture to the top of the peppers and broil for a few minutes. This is the best way I have found to get the crunch of the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I pretty much followed this recipe just used a little less cream cheese. Also I happened to find jalapeno bacon at food lion. It made the flavor explode!!! They were amazing. Everybody loved them. Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
his weekend I went on a quest to find the perfect popper. I cooked up several different batches for a party and this was the favorite stuffing. The sausage gives the filling a firmer texture and a delicious taste! I did some of these in the oven and some on the BBQ. I high recommend the BBQed version! The BBQ gives the bacon a delicious flavor and really makes these “pop”!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Durham Region, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Nice easy popper recipe however I did use shredded cheddar cheese as we do not like a cream cheese popper. Idea and prep and can be suited to anyone's personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Tried the recipe and loved the poppers. The second time I forgot to purchase cream cheese. I substituted Pimento cheese spread and from this point forward I will be using Pimento cheese. I left out bacon bits; my preference. I also cooked 15 minutes instead of 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
These are awesome and are always very popular at parties, if they make it there. We use chorizo for extra spice, and leave off the bacon (we are bacon fanatics, but with the chorizo, it's not really necessary...especially if you plan to eat 10 and don't want to regret the calories even more). Believe it or not, these are awesome if you make them with a good canned jalapeno; the kind that comes in a giant can, pickled with carrots, is the best! The brand name escapes me at the moment. Pickled jalapenos and chorizo together make a *very* spicy combination. I love the idea of honey on the bacon, however, so I think I'll try that next time, with regular sausage instead of chorizo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This is AMAZING. I did some with sausage and some without. I preferred without. They were gone in minutes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This is a good basic recipe. I was in a hurry and didn't have time to get to the store to get the exact ingredients, so made this recipe with I had. I used chopped shrimp instead of sausage, used a spinach and artichoke cream cheese and added an 8 oz tub of sour cream. If you like your bacon done, count on leaving it in the oven an extra 10+ minutes to brown up. After loading up all the jalapeños, I still had a bit of the mixture left, so I put it out as a chip dip. It was all pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States