Sausage Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Very yummy! Used turkey sausage, and it was eaten all up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I don't know why I haven't written a review for this until now. I make this recipe ALL THE TIME. It's absolutely delicious just the way it is. I buy a nice quality, all natural, no preservatives breakfast sausage because the sausage imparts all the flavor in this dish. I vary it slightly at times depending on what I have on hand. I sometimes use red bell pepper instead of green because it's sweeter. I add a few cloves of garlic and ~1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce based on another review and that adds depth, plus I just love garlic and Worcestershire. I generally add more veggies than it calls for because I like veggies and they cook down quite a bit. For example, I usually use two peppers instead of one and a couple more carrots. I keep the onion at one though. Sometimes, if I make it with fresh potatoes, I saute them in oil separately and add at the end for crispiness. More often though, I buy frozen hash brown potatoes (the cubed style), spread them on a parchment paper-lined cookie sheet with a bit of oil and bake them - all while I am sauteeing the other stuff. When they are warm through, I switch the oven to broil and broil the potatoes a bit to crisp them up a little. When they are done, I add them to the mix and the dish is pretty much ready without any more cooking. Enjoy this! I have brought it to brunches, pot lucks, and I make it for dinner often with a fruit salad on the side. I always get rave reviews. It's hard not to eat the whole bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This was so good and easy. I didn't change a thing except add a couple of scrambled eggs to it for a yummy brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Husband loved it, but I thought it lacked flavor. Would be good with a cooked egg on top, which I may try if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShirleyMay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This was actually Way good...followed recipe except no carrots, added worchestershire sauce, and 2 garlic cloves. Will make again...and Great Leftovers for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
My family loves it and I have been asked over and over to prepare it. My secret that I used is onion powder, I didn't put carrots in it and, I only use half of the onion and the bell pepper. Also If you want to pre-cook the potatoes that's fine but I just put them in raw and let the steam take care of it when doing this try not to stir as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferH09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Used spicy hot sausage and cooked separately from potatoes, green pepper, onions, garlic and mixed at the end to just flavor each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Didn't use carrots or green pepper. Used 2 cans canned potatoes cut up. Scrambled 8 eggs and added to the hash. Kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Very good and a easy weeknight meal. I left out the green pepper only because I didn't have any, but it was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Solid recipe. We'll definitely make it again. I have lots of leftovers that are waiting for me in the morning, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States