Sausage Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Very yummy! Used turkey sausage, and it was eaten all up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I don't know why I haven't written a review for this until now. I make this recipe ALL THE TIME. It's absolutely delicious just the way it is. I buy a nice quality, all natural, no preservatives breakfast sausage because the sausage imparts all the flavor in this dish. I vary it slightly at times depending on what I have on hand. I sometimes use red bell pepper instead of green because it's sweeter. I add a few cloves of garlic and ~1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce based on another review and that adds depth, plus I just love garlic and Worcestershire. I generally add more veggies than it calls for because I like veggies and they cook down quite a bit. For example, I usually use two peppers instead of one and a couple more carrots. I keep the onion at one though. Sometimes, if I make it with fresh potatoes, I saute them in oil separately and add at the end for crispiness. More often though, I buy frozen hash brown potatoes (the cubed style), spread them on a parchment paper-lined cookie sheet with a bit of oil and bake them - all while I am sauteeing the other stuff. When they are warm through, I switch the oven to broil and broil the potatoes a bit to crisp them up a little. When they are done, I add them to the mix and the dish is pretty much ready without any more cooking. Enjoy this! I have brought it to brunches, pot lucks, and I make it for dinner often with a fruit salad on the side. I always get rave reviews. It's hard not to eat the whole bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This was so good and easy. I didn't change a thing except add a couple of scrambled eggs to it for a yummy brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Husband loved it, but I thought it lacked flavor. Would be good with a cooked egg on top, which I may try if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShirleyMay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This was actually Way good...followed recipe except no carrots, added worchestershire sauce, and 2 garlic cloves. Will make again...and Great Leftovers for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
My family loves it and I have been asked over and over to prepare it. My secret that I used is onion powder, I didn't put carrots in it and, I only use half of the onion and the bell pepper. Also If you want to pre-cook the potatoes that's fine but I just put them in raw and let the steam take care of it when doing this try not to stir as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferH09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Used spicy hot sausage and cooked separately from potatoes, green pepper, onions, garlic and mixed at the end to just flavor each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Didn't use carrots or green pepper. Used 2 cans canned potatoes cut up. Scrambled 8 eggs and added to the hash. Kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Very good and a easy weeknight meal. I left out the green pepper only because I didn't have any, but it was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Solid recipe. We'll definitely make it again. I have lots of leftovers that are waiting for me in the morning, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States