Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I did the bacon version after cooking some bacon....it turned out great! The bits from the pan made it color up really nice. I put cayenne pepper in with the roux, I think it helps with the flour taste. I've also heard that cooking the roux for at least the five minutes is important to not get the flour taste. Probably why grandma burnt hers a bit on purpose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
MMM. Tastes like what I get at my favorite reasturant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This was so easy to make and so delicious! I like serving this over hashed browns. Terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
To be honest, gravy has never been one of those things I could do... until this recipe. Amazing! I do agree that pepper is required, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Good basic recipe, but needs assistance of at least salt and pepper to bring out the sausage flavor and slightly suppress the flour flavor. Found that the recipe does not seem to scale well, or the original yield of 12 servings is far off. Tried to scale to 1/2 size (6 servings), and barely had enough for two biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Good basic idea, though I did make a small addition. I sauted some yellow onion in the "fat" before making my roux. I also added black pepper as a reviewer before me suggested. All in all, very yummy! Great on mashed potatoes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I made this for my husband's birthday breakfast. First time at ever making "biscuits and gravy" and I have to admit, I had to do some research because I couldn't understand the whole concept of a biscuit with just gravy on it. But I made it because my husband loves this breakfast. He thought it was very, very good. Five stars! I did crumble some sausage in with it and added some pepper. He loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailey5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Good recipe and tasty results. We make sure to use the same pan that we fried the sausage in and each batch is different on how much flour and how much milk. For us, it is a must to use black pepper also. You can also use bacon/bacon grease as well. This is good country cooking. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This is really good, but SO much better if it has the chance to sit overnight. When it's first done the flour is very easy to taste, but the next day all of the flavors have blended nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This was really simple. I used bacon and served over toast. I recommend adding the cooked meat to the gravy. Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States