Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This is best when you use Jimmy Dean Hot sausage and add cayenne pepper to the gravy...but I like my food spicy! I add the sausage back to the pan after the gravy starts to thicken. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Delicious! I added a half teaspoon of Paprika and a dash of red pepper for extra heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Bresler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
very good and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMooka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
AWESOME with biscuits! I didn't think I'd ever be able to get the real NC mountain taste of biscuits and gravy- but this sure hit the spot! I added salt to taste and cayenne for a little kick. It tasted like home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is a very good, simple recipe, especially if you want to get food on the table in 15 minutes or less. I am a vegetarian so I changed the recipe as follows: I used a soy "meatless sausage" instead of real sausage, and when it did not produce enough grease to make the gravy, I simply added 2 TBS of olive oil to the pan and proceeded with the recipe as it is written. When finished, I poured the "sausage" gravy over biscuits, and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I simmer this a bit longer in with the sausage. It really has a great flavor the next day though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime Dean
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This is PERFECT!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Yep, this is it! I never had this growing up - this is something I learned about after meeting my (Texan) in-laws... and I was an instant fan. I giggled when I read the "you can add some sausage back in" instructions because I always make this with at LEAST half a pound of sausage in the gravy. Chunky is better! I know some recipes call for sage sausage, and even though I have a love affair with maple sausage, I wouldn't use anything but plain for gravy. Just too darn good to mess around with it! If you're looking for a biscuit recipe to go with, try Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits here. Not fancy, just delicious and easy. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I crumble up 1/3 of the sausage and add it to the gravy at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This is a great base recipe that I will use often! I made sausage links and didn't have quite enough grease so added a little butter. Added salt and pepper at the end and it was delicious! I'm getting ready to make it again using bacon this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene Smeck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States