Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is a very good, simple recipe, especially if you want to get food on the table in 15 minutes or less. I am a vegetarian so I changed the recipe as follows: I used a soy "meatless sausage" instead of real sausage, and when it did not produce enough grease to make the gravy, I simply added 2 TBS of olive oil to the pan and proceeded with the recipe as it is written. When finished, I poured the "sausage" gravy over biscuits, and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I simmer this a bit longer in with the sausage. It really has a great flavor the next day though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This is PERFECT!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Yep, this is it! I never had this growing up - this is something I learned about after meeting my (Texan) in-laws... and I was an instant fan. I giggled when I read the "you can add some sausage back in" instructions because I always make this with at LEAST half a pound of sausage in the gravy. Chunky is better! I know some recipes call for sage sausage, and even though I have a love affair with maple sausage, I wouldn't use anything but plain for gravy. Just too darn good to mess around with it! If you're looking for a biscuit recipe to go with, try Mom's Baking Powder Biscuits here. Not fancy, just delicious and easy. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I crumble up 1/3 of the sausage and add it to the gravy at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This is a great base recipe that I will use often! I made sausage links and didn't have quite enough grease so added a little butter. Added salt and pepper at the end and it was delicious! I'm getting ready to make it again using bacon this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene Smeck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
The best I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Almost tastes like Grandma's... I added a half tsp of salt and a little fresh cracked black pepper. This was great over biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
very good gravy...i did add a little sea salt to add some more taste...very easy too..I love easy things......thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Very easy. I used turkey sausage, and added a little pepper. My kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rettable

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States