Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Just what I was looking for! It is better if it sits a few hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Weis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Angier, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Easy to make, I used a pound of our "home-grown" sausage we put up last month (because it was not too fatty I had to add a tablespoon of vegetable shortening to the roux) - I heated my milk in the microwave so that it was hot when I poured it into the roux. I added very little salt and about a 1/4 tsp of freshly ground pepper. It was very good. I imagine it would be even better if left to sit overnight for the flavors to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by farmhousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loma Linda, California, USA
Living In: Pekin, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
i added 1/4 tsp black pepper and 1/2 tsp sage and 1/2 tsp thyme good and simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This recipe was great!! it was simple and my boyfriend loved it!! I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I tasted this while cooking and thought it needed at least a little extra seasoning...I added freshly ground black pepper and some dried crumbled sage. Skipped a step to make this even easier and just drained the grease off the sausage, leaving about 1 tblsp in the skillet. Then sprinkled a good heaping tblsp of flour over the meat and combined well, cooking for a minute or so. Then added the milk (didn't measure, just kept adding until the thickness was right.) Served this over thick slices of buttered french bread that I toasted under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
One of the best simple sausage gravies I had and very easy to make. Instead of putting sausage to the side, I poured the prepared gravy over the sausage to place on my hot biscuits in the morning :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Oh wow.......incredible! I used Jimmy Dean sage bulk sausage which was really flavorful. I used quite a bit more flour than suggested and it came out just perfect. The simplicity of this recipe is down home, authentic and needs no bells or whistles. Sunny side up eggs went very nicely with with this biscuits and gravy dinner which my family absolutely adored Denyse. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
My family substitutes coffee for the milk; makes a fine gravy. I'm 67, and my grandmother taught this to me - with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
With a little salt, pepper, and garlic this was perfect. Very good consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Clintonville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
We used Lamb Sausage (rather than pork) for this. Had to play around with the flour/milk ratio to get the right texture but overall it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States