Sausage Gravy III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
First time making sausage gravy, and I'm so excited to find this recipe! I used Webber "Bold & Spicy" (?) sausage, and it was definitely spicy. Per other reviews, I tried reducing the milk to 1 1/2 cups, which was really good. But the gravy does thicken the longer it cooks & then sits, so 2 cups would be OK too. All in all, a fantastic taste and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
My fiance's family is originally from Mississippi, and they know how to make biscuits and gravy. So when I tried this recipe out, I wanted to make sure it would measure up. IT DID. He loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I love this sausage gravy recipe. It is the only version I make. I do typically add more flour and water as a paste to help it thicken more quickly as it cooks though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I love sausage gravy and this recipe was a big hit at our house. I didn't add the extra margarine figuring there was plenty from the sausage. I also used Sage sausage giving a little more flavor. I tried once with Maple sausage and didn't like the taste. Other than decreasing the fat I didn't really change anything. This is super easy. I did cut the recipe in half though since I was only cooking for 2. I had plenty and there was nothing left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
My ex-husband was the cook in our family. Sausage gravy and biscuits were one of my favorite meals that he made. This recipe is even better than the gravy that he would make. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
Excellent and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Eight thumbs up - This meal was gobbled up by my boys. I used only 2cups of milk though and served with mashed potatoes and toast. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
Love this recipe...especially when I am in a hurry. As a mom of 3 that seems like always. I cut back the milk to 3 cups...or else I had to add cornstarch/water mix. This is a Sunday morning meal at our house. Thanks Bonnie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I also only used about 3 cups of milk. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
Quite good, but I agree with the other advice - scale down the milk or add starch. I reduced the recipie for 1 person (can you believe I'm the only one in my house who likes biscuits and gravy?!?) & added a smidge of starch. It made a great breakfast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States