Sausage Gravy III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I love sausage gravy and this recipe was a big hit at our house. I didn't add the extra margarine figuring there was plenty from the sausage. I also used Sage sausage giving a little more flavor. I tried once with Maple sausage and didn't like the taste. Other than decreasing the fat I didn't really change anything. This is super easy. I did cut the recipe in half though since I was only cooking for 2. I had plenty and there was nothing left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
My fiance's family is originally from Mississippi, and they know how to make biscuits and gravy. So when I tried this recipe out, I wanted to make sure it would measure up. IT DID. He loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
YUMMY!! My husband asked if we could have this for breakfast every morning. I said no of course but we had enough for leftovers the following morning and it reheated very well. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
My oh My... Country biscuits and gravy! My favorite alternative breakfast. I only used 1/2 pound of sausage,left everything else the same, then fixed some fried 'taters with onions. I left the breakfast table fuller than a hound dog at a red neck BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
FANTASTIC! I was born, raised, and still live in MS, and I know what a good sausage gravy tastes like. THIS IS IT! Changes I made: bacon grease instead of margarine, only 3 cups of milk, and a little more than the required flour as mine didn't seem pasty with the amount as stated. The gravy thickened up very well - we like ours thick! Overall, the meal was very filling and probably very fattening, but it was great for a once in a while dinner or breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I have tried to make this in the past and it never turned out right with this recipe it is fool proof very easy to make and is always a family and friend favorite. Not Sure how healthy it is but boy is it yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Excellent. As good as any sausage gravy I've ever had. I didn't quite use four cups of milk, but the outcome of this recipe was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRraff

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Clare, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Happily-a-Peterman
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very yummie. I'm from Tenn. so sausage and gravy are popular when i visit. This was my first attempt to make it with this recipe and it was wonderful. I used sausage patties then cut them up as my daughter doesn't care for meat much so those who wanted it could have it and those who didn't didn't. And I agree with the review it does reheat very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happily-a-Peterman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This was my first attempt every at sausage gravy and I've really only made gravy a few times before this. EASY though and delish! My husband said we will NEVER buy sausage gravy in a can again and I totally agree. The second time we made it we used hot sausage and made it over biscuits with omelets for breakfast - too die for! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sides Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johannesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Best.Gravy.Ever. Thick and hearty, i subbed butter for bacon grease though, as did many others. Soooo Good. Served with Mom's Buttermilk Biscuits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central, South Carolina, USA
Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States