Sausage Gravy III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I've made Sausage Gravy like this for years. Cant go wrong with this. But for a slightly different taste try adding aprox 2 teaspoons of Worchestershire sauce or more to taste, I use Lea & Perrins, and usually bit more. You might like the unique flavor it gives this hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HYSOL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Very easy and yummy. The only thing I do different is that i take the sausage out ofter it is browned, make the gravy and then add the sausage back in. I find it easy to keep it smooth this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sugar City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is a good recipe but it is much better and creamier if you used Evaporated milk instead of regular milk. I have made southern sausage and bacon gravy my entire life and have never added butter to it. The sausage grease gives you enough liquid for your flour. Cook the flour for at least 3 minutes to get a little color to it and get rid of the flour taste and then add the milk, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Have been making this for years. I usually make it the night before so the sausage flavor can mesh with the gravy. Just pop in the microwave and pour over biscuits. (after reheating, check the thickness- you may need to add a tbs or two of water.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
So easy. I used a sage flavored sausage as another veiwer had recommended and it was great for biscuits and gravy. Next time I may add a bit more flour so the gravy is thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was a nice change from our usual canned gravy. Next time though I will only add 1/2 pd sausage and the full 4 cups whole milk instead of 3. It was way more sausage than the standard recipe. Other than that, I didn't change a thing except added a lot of cracked pepper and some salt for flavor. Served some Southern Hashbrowns on the side and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Simple and delicious! I will definitely be making this a couple times a month from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
easy and great. i used a little less milk but it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Turkey (country) sausage and reduced fat milk will work in this recipe with good results, if you keep the butter or margarine. Classic flavor, either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Very good! My boyfriend talked about it all day long! The only thing was that with 4 cups of milk it was a little bit too runny for us, so I had to add more flour. Plus added some seasoning to the sausage while it was cooking. Other than that it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Green Eyed Texan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States