Sausage Gravy III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This is a good starting point, but the recipe as written is really thin and bland. I had to add a couple more tablespoons of flour to get it almost thck enough after 15 minutes, and it desperately needed salt and pepper. But it's easy to remember as the base recipe, so I'm sure it'll get used more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I just made it a little while ago, WONDERFUL!! I am keeping this for sure and for me there is no reason to make any other recipe! to me this tastes like McDonalds, I made as is and no changes were made. THANK YOU BONNIE :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewels mother of 2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Excellent! I added less than 4 C. of milk and it was the perfect consistency for our family. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCPHILLIPS
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I've made Sausage Gravy like this for years. Cant go wrong with this. But for a slightly different taste try adding aprox 2 teaspoons of Worchestershire sauce or more to taste, I use Lea & Perrins, and usually bit more. You might like the unique flavor it gives this hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HYSOL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Very easy and yummy. The only thing I do different is that i take the sausage out ofter it is browned, make the gravy and then add the sausage back in. I find it easy to keep it smooth this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sugar City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is a good recipe but it is much better and creamier if you used Evaporated milk instead of regular milk. I have made southern sausage and bacon gravy my entire life and have never added butter to it. The sausage grease gives you enough liquid for your flour. Cook the flour for at least 3 minutes to get a little color to it and get rid of the flour taste and then add the milk, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Have been making this for years. I usually make it the night before so the sausage flavor can mesh with the gravy. Just pop in the microwave and pour over biscuits. (after reheating, check the thickness- you may need to add a tbs or two of water.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
So easy. I used a sage flavored sausage as another veiwer had recommended and it was great for biscuits and gravy. Next time I may add a bit more flour so the gravy is thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was a nice change from our usual canned gravy. Next time though I will only add 1/2 pd sausage and the full 4 cups whole milk instead of 3. It was way more sausage than the standard recipe. Other than that, I didn't change a thing except added a lot of cracked pepper and some salt for flavor. Served some Southern Hashbrowns on the side and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States