Sausage Gravy III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I needed a bit more flour to thicken it the way we like. Added 1/2 tsp seasoned salt and 1/4 tsp black pepper...did not add the margarine. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Awesome! My first time making sausage gravy and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Perfect! Easy to make and delicious. We never go out for biscuits and gravy anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This is a simple, delicious recipe. I have a few suggestions. #1, for God's sake use butter. Where did the margarine ingredient come from (like sausage gravy is even remotely healthy). #2, When it comes time to make the roux (adding the flour to the fat) I suggest moving all the sausage to the side of the pan so that the roux can be cooked a bit before mixing with the sausage and adding the milk. This reduces the amount of cooking time required to cook out the starchy taste of the flour. I also added some diced onion (just a couple of table spoons...don't get carried away). It adds a significant level of richness to the finished product, particularly if you use Vidalia onion. It is optimal to "sweat" the onion for awhile before adding the sausage, because it should be sautéd until translucent before adding any liquiid to release all the flavor. Oh...and using some (or all) spicy sausage gives the gravy a nice bite. Or, in lieu of that add just a dash of cayenne or red pepper flakes to the sausage (before adding the milk...remember that any spice w/ carotenoids requires fat to release the flavor), even if you don't want the gravy to be hot. By adding an imperceptible interest on the back of the palate it will make even the boring-est gringos you feed wondering why your gravy was so dang good. Now, go promote a heart attack with this gravy. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
After making this, seeing how easy it was and how delicious it is, I'll never buy the packet of mix again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zimmerle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Very easy and tasty! Left out the margarine since we had plenty of grease with the sausage. Added onion powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste. Will be making again. Thank you for this quick and easy comfort food :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VariableVeracity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I've been making sausage gravy like this for 30 years! Instead of the margarine I use leftover bacon grease. Otherwise, follow this recipe. No need to remove the sausage and then make the gravy and add it back in, just make it all at one time like this recipe directs. Add the milk slowly so that you don't add too much, just use the 4 cups as a guide. You can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This is an excelllent recipe. My only suggestion is to cut the milk to 2 Cups which will make a thick gravey. I used a 1/4 teaspn of pepper. And, I used Jimmy Dean breakfast sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Giordano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
so easy, yet so tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliRank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I had never made sausage gravy before I found this recipe. It was way easier than I thought it would be. I usually half the recipe for just my husband and myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States