Sausage Gravy III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
very good, my wife said restaurant quality! one thing my gravy turned yellow? instead of white, the only thing I changed was using real butter, so maybe thats what happened. still tasted great. I made homemade biscuits from this site also, yum better than store bought biscuits. Homemade Biscuit Mix by DAVES_POOKY thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I'm a MS gal, and my husband is from AR. I made it this morning, and he LOVED it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking-n-MS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anesia
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Very good! Easy enough. I used butter instead of margarine and I changed it to 3 servings and it came out great still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anesia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I just made this gravy this morning. It was awesome. I have always used packet gravy mix but no more. I only used 2 cups of milk & it stll turned out great. The husband said this was the best. I already saved it into my recipe box. Thank you for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I needed a bit more flour to thicken it the way we like. Added 1/2 tsp seasoned salt and 1/4 tsp black pepper...did not add the margarine. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Awesome! My first time making sausage gravy and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Perfect! Easy to make and delicious. We never go out for biscuits and gravy anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This is a simple, delicious recipe. I have a few suggestions. #1, for God's sake use butter. Where did the margarine ingredient come from (like sausage gravy is even remotely healthy). #2, When it comes time to make the roux (adding the flour to the fat) I suggest moving all the sausage to the side of the pan so that the roux can be cooked a bit before mixing with the sausage and adding the milk. This reduces the amount of cooking time required to cook out the starchy taste of the flour. I also added some diced onion (just a couple of table spoons...don't get carried away). It adds a significant level of richness to the finished product, particularly if you use Vidalia onion. It is optimal to "sweat" the onion for awhile before adding the sausage, because it should be sautéd until translucent before adding any liquiid to release all the flavor. Oh...and using some (or all) spicy sausage gives the gravy a nice bite. Or, in lieu of that add just a dash of cayenne or red pepper flakes to the sausage (before adding the milk...remember that any spice w/ carotenoids requires fat to release the flavor), even if you don't want the gravy to be hot. By adding an imperceptible interest on the back of the palate it will make even the boring-est gringos you feed wondering why your gravy was so dang good. Now, go promote a heart attack with this gravy. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
After making this, seeing how easy it was and how delicious it is, I'll never buy the packet of mix again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zimmerle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Very easy and tasty! Left out the margarine since we had plenty of grease with the sausage. Added onion powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste. Will be making again. Thank you for this quick and easy comfort food :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VariableVeracity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States