Sausage-Filled Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
These are scrumptious! I've been making these for 10+ years. PLEASE READ FOR HELPFUL HINTS: The fix for the salt issue is DO NOT use the 1 package ranch salad dressing mix. Instead use 1 cup of PREPARED ranch salad dressing. Another trick that kicks this recipe up a notch is to use 1/2 pound regular sausage and 1/2 pound hot sausage. Also, use PAM versus vegetable oil to control the grease. You'll be glad you tried these tips as this recipe rocks! It flies off the table everytime I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Great recipe. I had extra filling so the next morning I put it a pie plate, covered with 8 eggs and it made a yummy crustless quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Always a big hit. I like that I can bake the wonton wrappers days or even a week ahead of time and keep them in an airtight container. I can also make the filling ahead of time. I let the cooked ingredients cool before mixing in the cheese and then store that in an airtight container. When guests arrive - I'm sometimes pulling things together and it's very easy to ask the guests to fill the wonton wrapers with the pre-made filling and toss in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Try using a shot glass to push the wrappers down into the mini muffin cups - works great! (spray w/ Pam -- don't use the oil; too many calories and not necessary). I prefer to bake them IN the muffin tin (removing them to a baking sheet makes them harder to handle & creates more dirty dishes); just remove to a rack to cool. Try adding about 1/4c prepared (homemade) ranch dressing rather than the dry mix, gives a bit of extra moisture and its easier to control the salt content. Lots of great tweaking potential. MMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Made these for a party yesterday and were gobbled up by the men!! We gals loved them too but when we went back for seconds, they were gone. I used Italian sausage and due to it's high salt content, I left out the dried dressing. Instead, I used plenty of my own seasonings and even added a bit of tomato sauce. I had crescent rolls in the house, so I figured that they would also work. I laid out crescent roll dough, filled them with the meat mixture, rolled them up and baked. Excellent appy Minnie and thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Big big hit with the family on Christmas!!! This was pretty much identical to the sausage stars a family member used to make! I made two adjustments. 1. Added 3oz cream cheese, making them even better than I remember. 2. I don't know if it was the size of my wonton wrappers or a miscalculation in the original recipe, but I could only fit 1Tbs of filling into each shell. Any more and they would have been overflowing and I would have had half my shells left empty. I was so glad to find this recipe so I knew how to revive this family favorite for my loved ones!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephicus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Grove, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Delicious! One of my favorite appetizers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I made these at christmas and my family absolutely loved them! I get requests for them all the time now. I've made them with won tons and phylo dough cups and they're great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Yummy! Instead of making the cups to fill, I bought frozen phyllo dough cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I made these in mini muffin tins and they made a great appetizer for my super bowl and new year's eve parties. I used phylo dough instead of wonton wrappers, using 2 layers of phylo which made the tiny cups super flaky. To fit the dough in the mini muffin tins, i used a shot glass to evenly tuck the dough into place. worked like a charm! I did not use the ranch dressing and the filling was still super tasty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States