Sausage-Filled Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I made these in mini muffin tins and they made a great appetizer for my super bowl and new year's eve parties. I used phylo dough instead of wonton wrappers, using 2 layers of phylo which made the tiny cups super flaky. To fit the dough in the mini muffin tins, i used a shot glass to evenly tuck the dough into place. worked like a charm! I did not use the ranch dressing and the filling was still super tasty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Always a big hit. I like that I can bake the wonton wrappers days or even a week ahead of time and keep them in an airtight container. I can also make the filling ahead of time. I let the cooked ingredients cool before mixing in the cheese and then store that in an airtight container. When guests arrive - I'm sometimes pulling things together and it's very easy to ask the guests to fill the wonton wrapers with the pre-made filling and toss in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
These are so tasty and super easy to make!! A winner for sure. I omitted the green chilies because I couldn't find them at the store, it was still very good but next time I'd like to try it with the chilies. And there will DEIFNITELY be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
These are scrumptious! I've been making these for 10+ years. PLEASE READ FOR HELPFUL HINTS: The fix for the salt issue is DO NOT use the 1 package ranch salad dressing mix. Instead use 1 cup of PREPARED ranch salad dressing. Another trick that kicks this recipe up a notch is to use 1/2 pound regular sausage and 1/2 pound hot sausage. Also, use PAM versus vegetable oil to control the grease. You'll be glad you tried these tips as this recipe rocks! It flies off the table everytime I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was a big hit..and I loved them too. The recipe calls for 48 wonton wrappers but makes 24 servings, so I assume you're supposed to use 2 wrappers for each. I only used one for each and still ended up with about 40 apps! Besides that and having used an oil spray similar to Pam, I followed the recipe exactly. SO GOOD. It's very important to make sure you press the wrappers into and up the muffin cups firmly as some of my first batch folded on themselves. Not nearly as time consuming as I had imagined. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Try using a shot glass to push the wrappers down into the mini muffin cups - works great! (spray w/ Pam -- don't use the oil; too many calories and not necessary). I prefer to bake them IN the muffin tin (removing them to a baking sheet makes them harder to handle & creates more dirty dishes); just remove to a rack to cool. Try adding about 1/4c prepared (homemade) ranch dressing rather than the dry mix, gives a bit of extra moisture and its easier to control the salt content. Lots of great tweaking potential. MMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I have been making these for 15 yrs. The only change in recipe is that I use Pam cooking spray on the wontons instead of vegetable oil. Always a big hit and they never last long on the serving platter!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Way too salty! Flavor was good but completely overpowered by the salt. Will make again but omit the Ranch dressing mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOOBALOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I made these last year for a Superbowl party. I forgot to add the Ranch dressing, and I used hot italian sausage. They were a huge hit! I made them again for this New Year's Eve party. I made them w/o the ranch dressing. Everyone raved again! They do take some work to make, but it is fun. Definitely a special occasion recipe when you want to impress company. Especially the men!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I made this for Christmas . I thought they were pretty good but felt a bit guilty due to the fact that they are very fattening.The presentation with the green and red pepper looked great but next time I would work on making it lighter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Readington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States