Sausage Egg Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Made this "unhealthy" because that's the way I cook :) 7 large eggs instead of 1 1/2 cup of substitute, pork sausage (one pack of breakfast sausages, casing removed). Turned out great. Served it at my 3 year old's birthday. One without peppers and one with. Side note: 16 oz of Cottage Cheese equaled 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
A great casserole for breakfast! If you let it stand at the end as suggested it cuts into squares very nicely. Nice taste and texture. Next time I will make it in 2 casseroles - one for adults (with the green peppers and chiles) and one without (for the kids). Would make a beautiful company breakfast dish or for a function - church brunch, baby shower, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I've made this recipe with and without the sausage. It's great either way. I assemble it the night before and cook it the following morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Eggcellent recipe! I don't use anything artificial so I used real eggs. Also, the only thing differently I did was use all regular ingredients - not low-fat varieties. Although I may try this even though those things aren't in my house. I used Italian sausage (looked like bratwurst because I thought it would be easier and more cost efficient. My hubby didn't realize the casing was supposed to come off, and it really didn't make any difference to have them cooked in there. I added a few shakes of red pepper flakes and some pepper, otherwise exactly as written. My kids also loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was a hard dish to rate. If I could, I would give it a 3-1/2 stars. It's low in fat even with a double serving. But I'm very glad I added extra spices to the mixture or it would have been unreasonably bland, as so many recipes here are. I was concerned about having everything mixed together, but it worked out pretty good. I did layer the ingredients somewhat: sausage, onion and green pepper mix first, cottage and cheddar cheeses, then a mixture of the egg substitute, baking mix, milk and spices over the rest. For spices, I added oregano, basil, pepper, garlic powder and dried parsley. I'm not exactly sure what could have made this better, but I think it can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Fantastic! Allowed me to stick with my weight watchers diet even at Mother's Day brunch. I was skeptical of the cottage cheese and wanted to put it in the food processor, but recipe is great as is. Used 2% cheddar to lighten fat even more. Make sure you really chop up the turkey sausage as you brown it as it tends to clump. Paired it with Asparagas and Chicken Crepes from this website as well as Cheese Danish recipe. Crowd Pleasers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This was quite good...I used turkey breakfast sausage because that is what I had. It has a really great texture, which is unusual for something that uses all low-fat ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I made this for Christmas morning and everyone loved it! My husband is leery of any "low-fat" type recipe, so I did not tell him what the ingredient were and he gobbled it up. We had a few leftover squares and heated them up the next morning and I think it was even better. My only question is, I wonder if it can be made up ahead of time, and then just popped into the oven the next morning?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Oh my goodness!! This was the hit of our Christmas brunch. It saved the day! In fact it was the hit of the day, the one thing that everyone in the family could agree on. Salsa (or tomato) and avacado add color to this wonderful recipe. This is a must for any meal. Enjoy, you can not go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Excellent dish! I prepared it for a Christmas brunch and my Mom did not believe that I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States