Sausage Egg Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I love, love, love, this recipe!! Very nice breakfast. It's even good heated up in the microwave the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This turned out terrible. I have been making items with reduced-fat and using fat-free milk. Everything I have made with these items turns out terrible. I followed the recipe exactly with one exception. I didn't have reduced fat biscuit mix, so I used the regular. You know, this probably would be good using real ingredients. Fat free milk should be displayed in the store right next to the water. Life is too short to make recipes like this. I am very close to deciding to stop making low cal items since I end up throwing them away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Not bad. It was a bit mushy, which bf wasn't a fan of--maybe bc we reheated it? When I ate a piece after cooking, it wasn't mushy. I thought it was a decent breakfast--good thing, since it appears I will have it for breakfast at work this week! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Yucky texture. Green chiles only made a funny flavor. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awilson614

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I had to google egg substitute because I don't keep that on hand. I found out that it's mostly egg whites. What I did was use 8 egg whites, two full eggs to make 1 1/2 cups. I used my own homemade baking mix in this casserole and because I wanted a richer flavor in this casserole, I used a cup of fat free evaporated milk. Because we don't care for green peppers, I used one red pepper. I made this casserole in my cast iron skillet, I just browned the sausage in the skillet and drained it, added a tablespoon each of butter and extra virgin olive oil, then threw in the red pepper and onion and sauteed it just a bit before adding the other ingredients. This baked up beautifully--it really looked like an omelette. PERFECT to make in the cast iron skillet--it goes right from stovetop to hot oven. I think this will be a repeater but next time I'd cut back the cottage cheese/cheese a bit and add some more vegetables and a few spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Wow, this was really good. I've just discovered the fun in cooking, and I changed a few things up from this recipe. I used "old fashioned" sausage because it was all I had. I used 7 eggs, 1 cup cheddar and 1 cup pepperjack, added some mushrooms instead of the chilies, and used the skim milk and Heart Smart Bisquick. I also used red, orange and yellow peppers with the onions because that's what I had on hand as well, then threw in a dash of salt and pepper. Delicious dish! I'll make it for several events, but next time I'll try it with the turkey sausage and egg substitute just for the healthy eating aspect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Made this gluten free using Pamela's pancake/biscuit mix and used breakfast sausage, not italian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Great dish...added red peppers (had on hand) . Kids gobbled it up . Made a great lunch. Tastey and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This is great! I used a mix of real eggs and egg substitute, and used turkey breakfast sausage instead of Italian-style sausage, but otherwise made it exactly as written. It turned out wonderfully! Fluffy and flavorful. And leftovers served as tasty, easy microwave breakfasts for several days. The recipe meets all of the requirements to go into regular use in our household -- it's delicious, has good nutrition without tons of calories, and it's both easy and inexpensive to make. I also suspect it will lend itself well to variation; I'm planning to make a version with spinach and mushrooms this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Jenkins McFadden

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Great recipe! I'll admit I did not buy low fat items. I made this with half sweet Italian and half hot Italian sausage it was delicious and not a crumb left. I made it the night before and just baked it in the morning because of that I had to increase the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States