Sausage Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This is a great use-what-you-have recipe! I was looking for a bread-less egg casserole to use up some leftovers I had on hand. I didn't have any breakfast sausage so I subbed ground beef, used cheddar instead of jack, a big dollop of salsa instead of chiles, added some baby spinach & a chopped tomato along with the mushrooms and green onions before adding to the egg/cheese mixture. It came out great. The texture is so light and fluffy! I'm sure it is even better with sausage. I don't think it is lacking anything without the bread, would be great for those cutting carbs! Thanks KNITWIT, love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yumms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I left out the butter and crust. Used turkey sausage added cooked green peppers instead of the chile peppers. And poured approx 1/4 cup of mixture in a greased muffin tin and baked right away. Perfect for a quick individual breakfast and they freeze well. This recipe made approx 24 muffin sized servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Used as a base recipe. Used 1 lb sage pork sausage. Fried a green bell pepper and one small white onion in with the sausage. Didn't include biscuit mix or green chile peppers. The cottage cheese in this is fantastic. Will make over and over again. Hoping leftovers are as delicious as fresh out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was a wonderful casserole. I halved it, but used 6 eggs, turned out great & has the airy texture of a souffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This recipe is awesome. I made some changes the second time I made it and it was still great. I used ham in place of the sausage. Didn't have any green chillies so replaced with chopped banana pepper rings, used canned mushrooms and cheddar cheese; and omitted the flour, salt and baking powder. The baking time is closer to 70 minutes made according to the recipe or with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I tried this last month, and it was delicious!!! Just made it again tonight for tomorrow morning. I use a pound of sausage, as my husband like lots of meat, and still came out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this for a potluck brunch at church. Most of it was gone so I'd take that as a good sign. I enjoyed it immensely. It was a nice change from the recipes that call for cubed bread. I used Jennie-O turkey sausage patties and broke them up in the skillet as the meat cooked. I used 3 cups Egg Beaters (instead of 10 eggs) and only put in 1/2 lb. Monterey cheese. I sprinkled another 3/4 cup (approx) cheese on top of the casserole before it baked and another 1/2 cup or so after I took it out of the oven. I also found that it needed closer to 60 minutes bake time. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I have made this 3 times in the last 3 months--once for a football tailgate (those 12 noon games require breakfast :), once for Thanksgiving morning (big time saver), and once this holiday season when the house was full of company. This recipe does not disappoint! For the tailgate, it was good even after trying to keep it warm for 2 hours before we ate. I don't tell my husband about the cottage cheese because he doesn't like it, but he raves about this recipe. I tend to leave out the mushrooms, because people either love them or hate them. I use the full dozen eggs, and I use all the cheese called for in the recipe. I also sprinkle some on top before baking. I have made it the night before and in the morning--both ways turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktwofish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is pretty good. I am deathly allergic to green chiles so take note I subbed in a green pepper. A little underwhelming at first but gets better as you work through it. I upped the mushrooms a bit, used an additional few ounces of oyster mushrooms. Next time I'll use a much better sausage, this is worth the good stuff. Also, the cooking time is a bit light, at one hour it was just done, a somewhat larger pan would remedy that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Excellent recipe. I made exactally as called for. Everyone liked it but I found that I had to cook it for about 20 minutes longer than called for. 70 minutes total. Maybe next time I will separate into two smaller dishes and make it a little thinner to cook faster. Nice to have a make ahead that didn't have a bunch of bread. We made it the night before and served with waffles and a spiral ham for Christmas Brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States