Sausage Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This recipe was great. I made it for Easter breakfast and it was a big hit! I did change the recipe a little...used 12 eggs, 1 lb. of sage sausage, and I chopped up 1 large green bell pepper and 1/2 a large onion and sauted them instead of using the green onions, mushrooms, and canned peppers. I also used 8 oz. of shredded sharp cheddar instead of the 16 oz. of jack cheese after reading the reviews that it was too cheesy. I used a pastry cutter to combine the flour mixture to make sure it wasn't lumpy, and it turned out wonderful! I'll definitely use this again. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
My priority was trying to find a "do-ahead" egg recipe, the night before--that DIDN'T have bread in it (as my other entree dish was eggnog french toast w/ cranberries and apples...we Certainly didn't need more bread!!) I made this sausage egg casserole for a large Christmas brunch--and it was "rated" by 10 people of various ages, 12 to 80. Everyone Raved about it - the flavors were wonderful!! And... everyone wants the recipe - which to me, is the HIGHEST compliment ~ Thanks Linda, for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This is insanely good. didn't make it low fat, but would try cause I can imagine it would still be good. used whole 16 oz. ground breakfast sausage. had to replace 1 can of jalapenos for 1 can of chilies (still good with a little kick-I didn't mind). looked weird adding the crumbles of the flour to the egg mixture but once it baked up, it was very good. husband asked if there were biscuits in it. make sure you let it sit for 10 minutes or else it'll be too loose and hard to dish out. I also did let mine bake for maybe 10 minutes more cause it's had no browning on top after first 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheri O.
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This is a great make ahead breakfast casserole. I cut the recipe in half. If you do this make sure you use a large enough dish so it will cook within the 40 - 50 minutes. The first time I made it I used a smaller dish and it was too thick to cook through. This also reheats well for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri O.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This egg casserole is absolutely delicious and easy to prepare. I have made it twice. The taste reminds me of a light and fluffy souffle. I omitted the peppers, because my family does not like spicy food. Both times I prepared it I halved the recipe, and it still comes out beautifully. The second time was for company so even though it was a half recipe, I still used 3/4 lb sausage and the full amount of green onions - for maximum flavor. I did use 6 eggs - in the "half" recipe while using the full amount of green onion and sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. I have done it with and without the flour mixture and I personally preferred it without the flour. You can also put these in a muffin tin for individual servings, just bake 20-30 minutes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Periodically Hubby and I like this type of thing for dinner, so I pretty much divided this recipe by 4 to make 2 good size servings. It was SUPER GOOD, even though I could only refrigerate it for about 3 hours. For my 1/4 recipe I diced 3 oz. of fully cooked Polish sausage and fried it until it was almost done. Then I stirred in 1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper, 3 sliced green onions, and the 2 oz. of mushrooms, and cooked it all until the veggies were tender. I did use 3 eggs, to which I added 2 small squirts of Oriental hot chile sauce. Cut the shredded cheese back to 3-1/2 oz. because I used extra-sharp cheddar. I thinned the flour/butter mixture with a bit of canned chicken broth because I knew the glop of junk I made would never mix into the egg mixture. Baked it (covered) in a glass 8-1/2 by 4-1/2 inch loaf dish for about 40 minutes until the center was set, and then about 10 minutes (uncovered) for it to brown. Do try this with my changes, and you will LOVE it. Not bland at all!!! Thank you, Linda, for sharing the basics of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
I fixed this for a football tailgate party and everyone loved it. The cottage cheese gives it a moist texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
Very simple to make and really tasty. Was extra popular since it wasn't all bread. Was very cheesy, may cut back next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
This is so good and easy. I made this for an after-funeral reception and it almost completely disappeared! Everyone loved it! I will definately be making this alot in the future!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States