Sausage Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
I made this for brinner and forgot to read the recipe, so I didn't have time to let the cottage cheese mixture sit overnight. It sat for, oh, thirty seconds while I sprayed my pan with non-stick spray. Regardless, it was so good! I had a small square before running out to Bible study and when I returned there was nothing left but crumbs! I wanted to review to reassure others that it's still wonderful without the overnight time. And I can't wait to try to recipe as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Waldrop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Amazing. A Christmas tradition in our house. I've substituted ham and swiss, which came out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I didn't care for the consistentsie of this casserole. In all fairness and to be helpful to other prospective cooks, I put it all together the night before. It was dense. Probably from letting the baking powder and flour sit all night so would not recommend doing that. I won't try again as I prefer the ones you can put all together the night before if I'm having company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Very good. I needed to use some cottage cheese and this worked. I will put this in my rotation. This is a nice basic recipe that you can change to what you have on hand. I will add only 1/2 c of flour next time as I thought this was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Excellent egg casserole. The taste is great and it's not too heavy. All of the party goers asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Served for brunch. It looked as good as it tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Twag
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I made this without the mushrooms, threw in a dash of hot sauce and it was great. I did a full lb of sausage since posts talked anout too much cheese and I didnt want to waste the extra bit of sausage in the 1 lb container. Used fat free cottage cheese and the 2% cheese. I did misread the instructions about putting the butter in the pan w the green onions. I put the 1/3 cup butter with them but that butter is for the flour mixture. It still came out fine. I didnt watch video which showed butter just a small bit in the pan when you do the green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cakey McCakester
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This was a humungo success! Here are some modifications I made: Used turkey sausage instead of pork - I used Jenny-O which was actually very salty so maybe go with another brand. Used olive oil instead of butter. Used egg substitute instead of real eggs - there's a carton that replaces 10 eggs exactly. Used 2 cups of monterey jack - it was too much cheese though - may have made it saltier also Didn't use chiles - replaced with green, orange and red peppers Added a full bag of spinach with the onions and mushrooms in the skillet at the beginning. Could have added even more since it kind of got lost in the mix. Did NOT add the flour, baking soda, salt or extra butter - didn't need it. May want to add tomatoes at some point or maybe serve the finished product with salsa. Also use a real 13x9 sized pan. Mine was too small and it needed extra time in the oven. Came out a little watery right out of the oven but it was banging for dinner that night and the corner that was left the next day! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Made this casserole this morning for a men's breakfast, and another one very similar except I used a pound of diced ham, about a cup and a half of diced onion and red bell pepper, and three handfuls of baby spinach which I sauteed with the onion and pepper in a couple tablespoons of butter. Both were outstanding, but the one with the ham was the bigger hit. I also used 12 eggs instead of 10. Will definitely be doing this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Locke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Great! I modified it by making the flour gluten-free (king Arthur's multipurpose gluten-free flour and a rounded 1/2 tsp xanthan gum. I also 1/2 the cheese and used pepper jack cheese to spice it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States