Sausage Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This has become my go to recipe when I have overnight guests. I have made it as is, and substitute canned biscuits, grits and croutons for the flour mixture it says to add in the morning. Whatever I add, I do it the night before. I use 12 eggs and a pound of sausage and omit the mushrooms because unfortunately one of my sons does not like them. I have a programmable oven, so I put it in the oven the night before and schedule it to be ready when we get up. Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Norcross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This recipe is great even if you don't have time to let it sit overnight. I mixed it all up and baked it in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Everyone really liked this and I liked being able to make it ahead and then just pop in the oven the next day. The only alterations I made was to use Jimmy Dean Hot Italian Sausage and instead of green chiles I used jalepenos (we prefer spicier food)...although I brought leftovers to the office and everyone said it had just enough kick...a keeper (although a special treat since it is anything but light fare)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This was really good, I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I try to follow a recipe as close as possible the first time i make it. This recipe was great. It came out of the oven bubbling. It looked so tempting that I couldn't wait for it to cool down so I took a forkful of it, blew it a bit and impatience got the best of me and so i scalded my tongue. I loved the gooey moistness of it. It was as yummy as it looked. I couldn't find plain Monterey Jack cheese so i ended up with a Monterey Jack/Cheddar cheese blend. Everything else was the same. I may just have to season it up a bit more next time and maybe change it up a little by adding or substituting with some veggies. I assure you, there will be a next time, and another next time. It's a wonderful starting point. Keeps well as left over too. My husband and I finished it in 3 days. First day, I had a serving and the husband 2. 2 hours later, i had another half a serving. And then another one close to dinner time. We don't do a lot of family gatherings but if we did, I wouldn't hesitate to take this to one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYSTRESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paranaque, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and this really turned out well. After reading the reviews, I didn't really know what to expect with the flour/baking powder/salt/butter mixture. I used a fork and just kept mixing as best I could and it almost looked like a wet, crumbly dough but just remember that you don't pour it in - it's more like sprinkling it into egg mixture. With all that said, it was really delicious and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This is my go to egg casserole for holiday breakfasts or just breakfast for dinner nights. The cottage cheese gives it a great consistency and the diced chilies add a nice kick that isn't to spicy. The only change I've made is half the cheese. The recipe calls for a whole pound of cheese, which would be two bags. I only do one bag, and it does not take away the flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfalke
Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Made this for a football tailgate and got lots of compliments!!I also used a dozen eggs and 1 lb. turkey sausage. Also just 8 oz of cheese. It came out wonderful!! Didn't have a pastry blender, so I just used a fork, and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
came out light and not dense. I only used a little of the flour mixture...not the entire amount. Didn't need full 16 oz of cheese. 8 oz was plenty. everyone really liked. made in muffin tins for about 20 minutes. perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This is a great recipe. My wife and I enjoyed every bite. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgebabcock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States