Sausage Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
First time ever making stuffing and this recipe was great. I did change some stuff. You have to add celery.(Do not put celery seed in.) Make sure that you saute the onions and celery. I did not put walnuts or the orange in. I also put 6 squares of butter on top when it went in the oven. Cook time was about 30-35 min. You have to try it!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This stuffing recipe is delicious. I left out the orange and walnuts, and used sauteed celery and onion instead of the celery seed. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I found this recipe because I had some fresh cranberries to use up. I made it to serve with some baked chicken breasts. I did a couple things differently. I used turkey italian sausage and drained that then in the same pan softened the onions and garlic and added some celery (sorry just not dressing to me without it). I don't think the onion, garlic and celery would of been soft enough for me just cooked in the oven for the 25 min. and nothing turns me off more than the crunch of raw onion in something like this. I left out the celery seed, used pecans in lieu of walnuts and only added some orange zest. This is great and went well with my chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
my Dad used to put sausage in the stuffing all the time, so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
What a great recipe best stuffing I ever had and easy too. I didnt put in the cranberries or walnuts or orange and I sauted onions and celery in a stick of butter instead of celery seed and I added 2 lbs of sausage crumbled and fried up it was a real sausage stuffing that everyone loved I dont have any left!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
It was different. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't really good either. I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Didn't really like it. Not sweet enough. The cranberries made it really sour. It was too chunky after everything was put together. Probably won't make this again without tweeking it quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This is so yummy! I love the combination of flavors. I didn't follow the recipe exactly because I didn't have fresh herbs and my husband doesn't like walnuts but I don't think that altered the flavor much. I really encourage everyone to try this. I made this for Thanksgiving and Christmas last year and will be making it again this year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Made this for a large group so I doubled the recipe. Used 1 lb spicy sausage, 1 lb maple mild to switch up the taste. Added 2 chopped apples, omitted the orange, and tossed in a few currants/raisins & apricots for sweetness. Chopped 2 cu. fresh celery & sauteed 1/2 with the onion. Nice combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
LOVE this dressing! Like other reviewers, I find that this recipe is very versatile, so play with substitutions to make it work for your preferences. For example, my family prefers dried cranberries to fresh, and they also like dried tart cherries, currants, and sultanas. We sometimes sub pecans for walnuts. However, I do not modify the spices. And I think it is essential that you include the fresh orange. Once, I made the recipe and didn't have an orange, so I used a few tablespoons of oj. The result was okay, but not as interesting as the essence you get from the orange rind's oil. My favorite bread for this recipe is multi grain. Whole wheat is also good, but multi grain provides a better texture. Although I enjoy white bread for some dressings, I don't think it's very good for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States