Sausage Diavolo Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I really did not care for this pizza. I have loved all of the Johnsonville sausage recipes I have tried. Basically, I really just don't care for store bought canned pizza crust. Despite a time consuming sauce and good quality sausage, it just didn't work. The off flavor of the crust could not be masked. Despite cooking the sauce 20 minutes, I still felt some of the onions weren't soft enough and wine taste seemed to linger way too strongly, even after the pizza was fully baked. A cup and a half of wine, almost seems like a misprint! I re-read the reviews, to find a few mentioning reducing it. I also prefer a pizza with more mozzarella. The parmesan was a bit much. I am not much into hot foods and the red pepper flakes were a little too bold for me too. Another reviewer, mentioned omitting them completely. The pizza was just a little too time consuming for the over all flavor and a homemade crust is definitely recommended for a more pizza and less bready flavor. Think, I will stick with the "Easy Sausage Pizza by Johnsonville," already on the site. I made that one and it was excellent. If you are looking for more of a pizza flavor, that is the one to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
A whole pkg of the sausages (19.76 oz) seemed like a lot to me for a single pizza, so I used three of the five links in the package which gave good coverage. Also, 1-1/2 cups of wine seemed excessive, so I reduced that to 3/4 cup, otherwise, I think it would have taken forever for the sauce to cook down. The sauce for this pizza is full-bodied, bold, and has many layers of flavor. The key to this pizza is to simmer slowly until the sauce thickens, the alcohol cooks out, and what you have left is the rich flavor of the wine. I added the sausage back to the sauce and simmered for about the 10 minutes. This is a very filling pizza, unlike any that I’ve ever had. This is a special one, thumbs up in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Only used 1 cup of wine & added tomato paste & extra oregano & basil to sauce. Baked crust for 5 minutes then brushed with olive oil & sprinkled with dried basil & oregano before topping with sauce & cheeses. Husband said best pizza he ever had! Will be making again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Had a great taste! I didn't want it too be too spicy for our tastes so I left out the red pepper flakes. Next time I will add less wine to make a thicker sauce. But overall this made a really enjoyable pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
GREAT pizza! Thanks! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
My fiance really enjoyed this pizza. I don't eat sausage so didn't try it, but will share his taste rating of 5 stars. It was a touch time consuming for a pizza, on nights I make a pizza I usually don't spend more than 10 minutes prepping, but this seemed to be worth the effort..thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
The sauce was very liquidy with that much wine so I ended up adding some tomato paste to thicken it. This was just more trouble than it was worth for the taste you get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Awesome, I added dried basil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Chef John’s Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States