Sausage Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Very good! Instead of making as directed, I cut small squares from the crescent dough and made cups in a small muffin tin. I then put filling in and baked them. Nice individual appetizers and my boys loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
337 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I enjoyed this recipe. Brought it to work this morning for a treat and they loved it. I prefer more seasoning, so I added crushed red pepper and black pepper, also a little onion powder. I will experiment more in the future with additional cheeses. This is a keeper! Update 10/08: I have made this recipe countless times since my first review, the folks at work absolutely loved it everytime. It didn't last 10 minutes once I hit the door. I use Hot sausage and add a bit of red pepper flakes, I've even done a version with cheese. Always tastes great. So many options you can do. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I make these as "Sausage Puffs" in mini-muffin cups with chunks of the crescent rolls (reduced fat) on the bottom as others suggested, and they are wonderful for appetizers! They would be specially for a brunch or super bowl-type event. Now I make these with 2 tblsp onion and 1 tblsp garlic added while cooking the sausage (you could add other veggies like diced green pepper, mushrooms...), then mix with 1 pkg lite cream cheese, 1 beaten egg and 1/2 cup stove top mix (I like the Savory Herbs variety). After covering the bottom of the cups with red. fat crescent rolls, spoon a 1-2 inch scoop of sausage/cheese mixture on top, then bake 12 minutes (don't forget the cooking spray!). You can try different kinds of sausage or flavored cream cheese for different spins as well. I usually use the reduced fat sausage as well, and I'm sure it would work with ground turkey sausage. I love these so will try the actual rolls as the recipe describes soon - I know the taste is great but will be curious to try it in a different format! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I made these for Christmas brunch, and my uncle (who is a chef) said they were the best thing on the buffet. They taste really yummy with Jimmy Dean's Hot Sausage... just make sure you pinch the cresent together at the pre cut seams so they don't tear apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Loved it. I used 2 hot sausages and 1 mild, so it was about 3/4 of a lb. I sauteed one small onion, threw the sausage in, seasoned with some basil, oregano, cayenne, and garlic powder. I ended up using 3/4 of the container of cream cheese. I didn't bother to brush the egg white on the crescent dough. This recipe was super easy & super good. I would make this anytime for an easy breakfast and it goes really well with scrambled eggs and toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Took this to a poker party and it was gobbled up FAST! I used turkey sausage and reduced-fat cream cheese to lower the fat content and taste was NOT compromised! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
My family has made a different version of this for years and still loves it adults and kids and coworkers and friends. Take 1 lb sausage, cook (I micro for 5 min, drain) add 1 block cream cheese (micro for 1 min to soften). Stir together. Put 1 whole can cresent rolls in bottom of greased 13x9 pan, pinch seams. Put all mix on top. Add second can of cresent rolls pinch seams and sides. Bake for time on roll can. May need extra 3-4 min. Much faster and easier than individual triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Great recipe! They're perfect for a quick appetizer or snack. They even make for a nice side dish for eggs at breakfast which is why I made them. I swear you could put just about anything in a Pillsbury Crescent Roll and it'll turn out great. I cut the recipe in half and used breakfast sausage adding in a little finely chopped onion. I opted out of the the poppy seeds since I was serving this with scrambled eggs and a side of OJ! Very simple and really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I make a similar recipe just prepared a little differently. I roll the Crescent dough flat making sure the seams are well pressed together. Spread 4 oz of softened cream cheese over the dough. Then spread the cooked sausage over the cream cheese and roll it up like a cinnamon roll. Then slice the roll with a bread (serrated) knife. I can usually get about 12-13 slices out of the roll. Lay them flat on a grease cookie sheet and cook at 350 for about 15-18 minutes. They come out as perfect sausage rolls. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
I was skeptical because I normally hate crescent rolls, but this has changed my mind. I used Andy's suggestions and added the pepperoni and the cheddar. I made 4 small buns from 1 package of crescent rolls. I microwaved the pepperoni (spread out on a plate) in 20 second intervals then patted the grease off it, otherwise it would soak into the crescent rolls. These were really good! Watch out for salty sausages, mine were super salty even though I got sweet sausage! Mmmmmmmm.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken-Stuffed Crescent Rolls

What's cooking in Duluth? Monica's incredibly easy, tasty chicken dish.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States