Sausage Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
My family fell in love with "sausage rolls" over our time living in Scotland. We miss them so much, but these certainly brought us back... These are not quite as flaky as the ones we had before and they also include cheese (which the original ones didn't) but we definitely embraced the changes! These were quick and easy to make! I was sure the dough would pop open and the cheese and sausage would come oozing out, but it didn't! You just need to make sure to pinch all the holes and lines (where the crescents were meant to be cut) are sealed tightly. I accidently picked up a box of "neufchatel cheese" instead of regular cream cheese which made it a bit tougher to get the creamy consistency it called for. But, once it was all wrapped up in the crescent rolls, it was all so yummy! I also used sweet italian sausage instead of spicy pork sausage (b/c that's what I had on hand) and added red pepper flakes to one of the logs for my husband and I. This is definitely something I'll make again and will have fun trying different cheeses and meats and (as others suggested) some other sizes and shapes (i.e. bite size squares, triangles, mini muffin cups). This is a good one... thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brensmum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I made these for dinner with some roasted red potatoes. I used grands buttermilk biscuits instead of crescent rolls. I rolled out the dough and put a large spoon full of the sausage/cream cheese mix, a large spoon full of scrambled eggs, and some shredded cheddar. They came out like a breakfast biscuit hot pocket. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
You can mix so many different ingredients into the cream cheese. I like using Chorizo,red bell pepper and sharp cheddar. I LOVE to make and serve as appetizers as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
i added chopped garlic and fresh rosemary from the garden. This is a quick and easy recipe that is very good. Try changing the type of cheese and spice how you like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
We make it using a sheet of puff pastry and call it sausage wellington. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This recipe turned out amazing. I also added scrambled eggs into the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
For those who like life on the spicier side, we add some chopped jalapeno (fresh or canned) to this. Great ballgame-watching food for the guys (AND girls!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I found these to be a little "one note." I did not add poppy seeds, however. Not sure if that would make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was an excellent recipe for game day appetizers. I used Italian sausage, but next time, I think I will try it with Chorizo sausage, and a little finely chopped green pepper. Wash it down with an icy cold Leinie's Creamy Dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glidden, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
My family has made a different version of this for years and still loves it adults and kids and coworkers and friends. Take 1 lb sausage, cook (I micro for 5 min, drain) add 1 block cream cheese (micro for 1 min to soften). Stir together. Put 1 whole can cresent rolls in bottom of greased 13x9 pan, pinch seams. Put all mix on top. Add second can of cresent rolls pinch seams and sides. Bake for time on roll can. May need extra 3-4 min. Much faster and easier than individual triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken-Stuffed Crescent Rolls

What's cooking in Duluth? Monica's incredibly easy, tasty chicken dish.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States