Sausage con Queso Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Yep, an oldie but a goodie. I have made this for years. I also have, on occasion, left out the sausage. Also, instead of using salsa I sometimes just put a can of Rotel (diced tomatoes with chilies) in. What I do is put all ingredients into a small crock pot, turn on low and allow folks to dip at their leisure. Just a stir or two every so often keeps this in good shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Fast & easy! Great to prepare the day before and put in a crock pot1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mattawan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This is good but kind of salty. I like to make my own tortilla chips with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I thought this was a little too thick. I added 1 cup of whipping cream and a small jar of pimentos and the green chilies. This is definitely better the next day as the flavours blend the longer it sits in the refrigerator
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Classic queso that we have enjoyed for years and years. We have always called it Jose Dip, after a Houston chef. We usually double the recipe in a crock pot on warm or low and the dip disappears at every party we have. Try hot breakfast sausage for more of a kick. You can also do 1/2 sausage and 1/2 ground beef. We have always used Rotel, one can of regular and one can of Extra Hot to 2 pounds of Velveeta. Hot and spicy...but we're Texans, what can I say...that's the way we like it! Yummy, yummy, yummy. Best with margaritas and homemade flour tortilla chips. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
So easy and fantastic! I can't believe three ingredients can make up such a yummy dip. I made it the night before as some reviewer suggested. I used hot sausage and hot rotel w/ chilies. Everyone loved it and I will absolutely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Made this dip for a football party (the night before) and put it out in a crock pot as someone else suggested and it was a big hit! Nothing was left by half time. Made it again and it was the first time I ever had guys asking for a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Great recipe! And my kids can do this whether I'm home or not. We always use Ro-tel tomatoes. I add some cilantro for seasoning, though. It's a great party dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
It's pretty good ..Next time I'll probably use ground beef . I used rotel (hot ) and Added a little milk and water because I thought the sauce was too thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This was awesome! I used Jimmy Dean sausage and it was wonderful! I also added a fresh diced and seeded jalapeno pepper for a little added spice! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMommy101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States