Sausage con Queso Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Yep, an oldie but a goodie. I have made this for years. I also have, on occasion, left out the sausage. Also, instead of using salsa I sometimes just put a can of Rotel (diced tomatoes with chilies) in. What I do is put all ingredients into a small crock pot, turn on low and allow folks to dip at their leisure. Just a stir or two every so often keeps this in good shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Fast & easy! Great to prepare the day before and put in a crock pot1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mattawan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This is good but kind of salty. I like to make my own tortilla chips with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I thought this was a little too thick. I added 1 cup of whipping cream and a small jar of pimentos and the green chilies. This is definitely better the next day as the flavours blend the longer it sits in the refrigerator
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Classic queso that we have enjoyed for years and years. We have always called it Jose Dip, after a Houston chef. We usually double the recipe in a crock pot on warm or low and the dip disappears at every party we have. Try hot breakfast sausage for more of a kick. You can also do 1/2 sausage and 1/2 ground beef. We have always used Rotel, one can of regular and one can of Extra Hot to 2 pounds of Velveeta. Hot and spicy...but we're Texans, what can I say...that's the way we like it! Yummy, yummy, yummy. Best with margaritas and homemade flour tortilla chips. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
So easy and fantastic! I can't believe three ingredients can make up such a yummy dip. I made it the night before as some reviewer suggested. I used hot sausage and hot rotel w/ chilies. Everyone loved it and I will absolutely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Made this dip for a football party (the night before) and put it out in a crock pot as someone else suggested and it was a big hit! Nothing was left by half time. Made it again and it was the first time I ever had guys asking for a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Great recipe! And my kids can do this whether I'm home or not. We always use Ro-tel tomatoes. I add some cilantro for seasoning, though. It's a great party dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
It's pretty good ..Next time I'll probably use ground beef . I used rotel (hot ) and Added a little milk and water because I thought the sauce was too thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This was awesome! I used Jimmy Dean sausage and it was wonderful! I also added a fresh diced and seeded jalapeno pepper for a little added spice! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMommy101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States