Sausage Coddle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Wonderfully flavorful! I prepared as written using smoked sausage (mix of regular and turkey) and we loved it - tempted to lick the plate clean! I would suggest 1/4" slice on potatoes; mine were about 3/8" and it required longer baking time. Serve in a bowl with bread or rolls to soak up the delicious broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Delicious! I layered this in my crockpot: potatoes, carrots, onions, sausage and bacon on top. Poured liquids in and cooked for 6 hours on high. I substituted chicken broth and regular beer, served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Sorry forgot to add to the earlier review that i also subbed beef broth for the Guinness and coconut milk for the cream as son is dairy allergic. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Love it! I sauté all the veggies and meat ahead of time then mix it all up and put it in the oven for about a half hour. I also use whole milk instead of cream, use apple chicken sausage and turkey bacon to cut down on calories. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made instead with breakfast sausages, broken up bacon strips, and 2 cups beef broth instead of broth/beer; all 5 members of the family loved it, kids and adults! Delicious comfort food on a freezing St. Patrick's Day. Was more popular than the already well-loved corned beef and cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and found it to be wonderful! I made it a second time, minus the brew and used beef broth in stead. It too was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I have been making coddles for a while now, but this one takes the cake! The addition of carrots and finishing with cream are great touches. I did reverse the beer/bullion ratio; as much as a love a good stout, it seems a cooked stout is a touch too strong for our palates at home. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
It smelled delicious but the taste was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
had a strange aftertaste and seemed to be too much prep work for what it was worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This wasn't that labor intensive at all. But 3 layers of layers, didn't do it in my 9x13 when I doubled the recipe for my family. I used a larger pan and divided the layers in to 2 layers of layers. I hope you got that ;-) I thought the dish was okay, not totally my cup of tea but it was okay. The stout was something that was a bit put off-ish in my book as well as my son's....but my husband and my 3 girls really liked it. I'll make again for them, but not for myself. However, if your a true guinness lover, then the recipe is totally for you. If you're not into guinness or don't have a liking for beer...then it's not. What I did like about the recipe, was the carrots and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States