Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
EXCELLENT recipe!!!! Everyone LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I make this all the time. I has become a staple in my household. Not only is it tasty but it goes a long way. I make a casserole then we will heat up a slice or two for breakfast for days to come. Great to have on hand for those busy school mornings. I do cook the hash browns alone (w/ butter) to get them crisp for about 20-30 minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients. I still cook it all together for an hour. I also suggest sauteing the onions with the sausage. I hope you like it as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This turned out really good. The recipe is a good base to work with. I too, like other reviewers, used frozen hash browns and precooked them for 30 min in oven to get them a little crisp on the bottom. I didn't have sausage, but used bacon instead. I also added 2 extra eggs and seasonings that my family would like. We really enjoyed the texture and cheese flavor. I will definately be making this again and trying it with sausage too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is incredible! Thank you for this recipe as it was awesome. And yes, change it up some too. Like the idea of the frozen hash browns. Made your original and changed it up some, used some ham too. WOW, this is a dinner staple here with my fresh eggs as well as a wonderful breakfast... but those fresh eggs get eaten in the AM here! Oh and the addition of some sweet red and green fryer peppers are delicious. Thank you for the GREAT START OF GOOD EATS HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Never would have thought to use the cottage cheese!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geigertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I had frozen tater tots so I used them instead of the shredded potatoes. Increased the eggs to 8. Added green peppers with the onion. Added diced tomatoes on top. It was delicious!! Everyone loved it. Especially with some hot sauce! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
i went to a ladies church luncheon yesterday and this was made and it was awesome. similar to what i make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Yum! The only modifications I made were to saute the onion with the sausage as in some of the other reviews and I used frozen shredded hash browns(thawed and pressed). My husband and I thought it was very tasty. Would definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is really yummy. I made it with more potatoes - probably 4-6 cups and added the onions to them and baked for about 30 min first. I also added 2 more eggs just because I needed more to feed my family. It is a little bland. But we just sprinkled a little salt on each serving and that was great! I can see that you could do lots of variations with this: different cheeses, bacon, adding veggies (I'm thinking broccoli!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This is a really great recipe base. Like other reviewers I made some changes and used a lot of them already suggested. I added mushrooms, green pepper and 10 eggs instead of 6 (I know 8 was also suggested but with the added ingredients, I needed more eggs), sharp cheddar cheese and I added about a tsp of salt and a tsp of garlic salt. I sauted the green pepper, onion and mushrooms before adding them to the egg mixture. Since I live in the UK, the frozen shredded hash browns aren't readily available here. Instead I used a bag of patty hash browns (like the ones you can get at McDonalds), fried them and smashed them up. It worked really well! I may try it again with the shredded potatoes but I'm liking my accidental discovery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This was just ok my family didn't really like it but it was worth a shot maybe next time add a little diced green pepper and more potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States