Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
My family loved it with a few changes. Several will not eat cottage cheese, so I baked the hash browns for 15 min while browning the sausage with onion. Drain and spoon on top of hot potatoes. Then I used 8 large eggs beaten with 1/2 pint of milk, salt, pepper, dash of red pepper and paparika. Mix in 1/2 the cheese. This mixture was poured over the potatoes and sausage. The rest of the cheese on top. I baked it covered at 375 for 40 min then uncovered for last 20 min. Let cool for 5 min before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was a hit at Easter brunch. Easy to put together ahead of time. I used frozen hash browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Made this for Easter Brunch and the family just loved it. I used 4 cups of frozen hashbrowns thawed. Added a little seasoning salt and pepper to them and pre-baked them for 15 minutes as others have suggested. I used regular bulk breakfast sausage browned well, about 8 oz of freshly grated sharp cheddar cheese and 8 large eggs in the filling. Baked for an additional 45 minutes and removed from the oven. Added about 2-3 oz additional cheddar cheese on top and covered with foil. Let rest for 5-10 minutes before serving. Excellent flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Happy Easter! Made this early this morning for our Easter breakfast prior to church. Everyone loved it! Wish the potatoes were a little crunchier, but I'll bake them for a while next time before adding the rest of the ingredients. I also cooked the onions with the sausage. I'll probably use more onion next time too. Thanks for a great start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This has become a holiday family tradition for us at Christmas and Easter. I use a sweeter sausage, like Maple, and double the cheese. One 12 oz bag in the casserole and one on the top! Broil it at the end for a few seconds to get crispy cheese... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I used Polish sausage and red onions instead. I cooked the sausage and red onions together with seasonings and all mixed together it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jekka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
LOVED THIS! I did however use cream of mushroom soup in place of the cottage cheese because my family does not like cottage cheese. I had considered using sour cream but didn't have enough, may try it next time. 6 eggs was just right for my casserole and I used frozen hashbrowns. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This was different than the usual breakfast casserole I make and we loved it! I used 4 cups of shredded potatoes and 8 jumbo eggs instead of 6. I also used hot style breakfast sausage instead of the sage flavored. We will definitely be making this again. 10/19/13 I have made this many times and I am now using thawed OreIda hashbrowns. They taste the same as using the fresh and save me a lot of time. I also add a little seasoned salt to the potatoes and bake for 20 minutes by themselves. I then add the egg mixture and bake another 40 minutes. Perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I have baked this dish twice and omg!!! It was delicious and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pwilkerson
Home Town: Millbrook, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Very good but tasted like it needed something. Tried sour cream and ketsup but still something missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 678) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States