Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
My husband found this recipe and thought he would try it for a breakfast he was making for 20 of his co-workers. If I could give more than 5 stars I would! It was a BIG hit with his co-workers and lucky for me there were two pieces leftover that he brought home so I could try it. In a million years, you would never guess this recipe has cottage cheese in it! Instead of chub sausage, we used Jimmy Dean's original links, which hubby cooked up and sliced into smaller round slices. We also used another poster's suggestion of using frozen hash browns mixed with the onions and butter and cooked separately in the pans for 30 minutes before adding the remainder of the ingredients. We also upped the eggs to 8 jumbos per pan. For 20 hungry men, we used 3- 9x13 pans and assembled each pan separately, rather than combining all ingredients X3. People came back for seconds and complimented my husband profusely on what a delicious and satisfying breakfast this was. Looking forward to making this again soon for our own family! Luscious! Thanks so much for sharing, William!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kassie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Prepared and cooked this exactly like the recipe and it was a hit and I was asked to make it again. This is also very easy to slightly modify for what's on hand in the frig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I really enjoyed this dish. I microwaved 4 russets and allowed them to cook before shredding them and mixing w/ butter. I prebaked the potatoes for 30min.@ 350-375 before adding the egg mixture. I sauteed onions, added mushrooms and bell peppers, added a little salt to the potatoes and a little salt and pepper to egg mix and used 8 oz. of sharp cheddar instead of 12oz of mild. I baked @ 350 then 325 for 1 hour. Dish set up well and tastes great with tomatoes. Thanks William
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was great! I used the frozen hash browns with onions and peppers and added an extra egg like other reviewers said. Leftovers were just as good if not better. We had this for dinner and both my husb and kids loved it :) Can use any type of sausage flavor you like, not just sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SesameYoung
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This Is Straight Up A 5-Star Recipe! I Changed The Measurements A Little, Due To A Tinier Baking Dish. However, That Made NO Effect On The Outcome! It Was Absolutely Awesome! I Had 2 BIG Pieces For Dinner, & Cannot Wait To Have Another For Breakfast :D YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SesameYoung

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This is the best casserole. We eat it for breakfast and dinner. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This was the perfect breakfast for a large group who had really partied the night before. They all agreed it was the perfect hangover cure. Add some hot sauce, and it's absolutely delicious. The cottage cheese is a great way to bind it all together if you don't want to use heavy cream. LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E Marino McElmurry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This is a hit! It can be made, put in the fridge the night before and popped in the oven in the morning. Good for church or work potlucks and even better for family get-togethers. We like it a little zipped up so I saute the onion, garlic, peppers before cooking the meat. It's even good as a vegetarian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
VERY GOOD! My picky family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Have made this 5-6 times. Sometimes use fresh potatoes - just grate and salt to reduce moisture. Also use frozen hashbrowns. Great either way. Family loves it and coworkers ask for the recipe. Easy to assemble the night before and just pop in the oven. Highly recommend. Have to keep the cottage cheese a secret or grandchildren will not eat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States