Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Great even my picky eaters liked it. I used frozen hashbrowns instead of shredding potatos myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was a very good casserole. I too baked the potato layer with additional salt and pepper, prior to adding the egg and sausage mix. However, I made this in a smaller pan because the 4 cups of potatoes didn't cover a 9x13 pan (maybe 7 x 11). I used 8 large eggs, instead of the 6 jumbo, as others had recommended. Because I used a smaller dish, I baked the egg mixture for 45 minutes in a 375 degree convection oven. The next time, I will only use 6 eggs and reduce the baking time. I also added red pepper to the sausage and onion mixture. The next time I would use red and green peppers because it would be pretty for Christmas. I used the cottage cheese too, instead of ricotta. This is a good basic recipe that you can modify to fit everyone's tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This was the first casserole recipe I've ever tried...it turned out really well. My changes: I made for 6 instead of 12; I used Gouda cheese and bratwurst (both are more local here in Holland than the cheddar and breakfast sausage) and tossed in red bell peppers. I also prepared everything the evening before, including half frying the shredded potatoes and then lining the bottom of the baking dish, and assembled on Christmas morning just before opening presents, so that by the time we were done, breakfast was ready! Served with mushrooms lightly fried in butter and toast. Will definitely make again. Thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This has become a standard favorite at our house. My teenage boys LOVE it, and will choose it over pizza! Imagine that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galynn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
AMAZING & sooooooo easy!!! Made it for Christmas breakfast & it will now be our annual tradition. RAVE reviews & kitchen smelled wonderful! Slight changes... I used frozen hash browns - 4 c. instead of 3. 8 eggs instead of 6. Cooked the onions with the sage sausage. Added 1/2 a red bell pepper & 1/2 a yellow bell pepper, chopped, to the potato mixture. Cooking time & temp as shown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Made this for Christmas breakfast & I was NOT disappointed! It was just my husband and I, so I halved the recipe. I made a couple of minor modifications to suit our tastes. 1. I seasoned the buttered potatoes with a few dashes each of salt, black pepper & sage. 2. I minced up some green onion and cooked it in with the sausage. 3. Added two extra eggs, since I was working with large and not the jumbo ones the recipe calls for. Will use this recipe again and won't wait for Christmas time to do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMEasterling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Delicious. Makes quite a hearty breakfast. Made for Christmas breakfast and everyone loved it. Served with Salsa on the side for a nice kick. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
We made this recipe with 8 jumbo eggs and had tabasco sauce on the side. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I added more potatoes just because we had them, along with some salt and pepper and extra butter mixed in with the potatoes. I mixed it up in the evening and popped it in the oven in the morning. What an easy way to start our Christmas morning! This was absolutely wonderful, and I can't wait for an occasion when I can make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Fantastic! My go-to brunch recipe for baked eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 640) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States