Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Followed other commenters directions.. made with 8 large eggs, par baked the potato butter mixture... really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gajerseygal
Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Absolutely awesome! I've never been much for cooking but I've been attempting to broaden my horizons a little bit and this recipe was one of my first tries at something new. It was simple to make and it's incredibly tasty. I used fresh potatoes and ground them, as well as the onions, in a food processor to make for a smoother consistency. For the sausage, I used a one-pound sausage log which, I think, works better than sausage links or patties which would then have to be ground up. Although the cook time says one hour, with a well pre-heated oven mine was done at 45 minutes. We ate this for dinner but it would easily work as a breakfast, brunch or lunch item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
My whole family loves this casserole; even my husband who won't eat cottage cheese. I have tried fresh potatoes and frozen- but I always prefer the frozen. They taste much better and the consistency is also better. We love to have this any time of day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
This recipe was GREAT!!!!! I did doc it up some, I added some smoked seasoning and did the garlic and herb shredded potatoes(which gave it a great boost) it slices really well and I wrapped it in wax paper an my hubby and I had for the week. I have shared this with my mom and co workers telling the to add a little flavor of there own. I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
As other reviews have said bake the hashbrowns with butter for 30 minutes and then add the other ingredients and bake for 30 more minutes. I added 3 roasted pablano peppers from my freezer and it was great! Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I love that you can use pre-shredded potatoes and that it can be made the night before and baked in the morning. The kids loved it as much as the adults and the chef can join the party for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I thought this was an excellent base to which a person could make changes. I used it to get a good start on a breakfast casserole that, with my changes, my friends raved about at the brunch I took it to. I upped the hashbrowns by a cup, I used 8 eggs instead of 6, I used 8 ounces of sharp cheddar rather than 12 of mild, I changed the yellow onion to green onion, and I added diced red and orange peppers. I added some extra flavor with dill and garlic salt. For the potato layer, I added salt and pepper along with the butter. I add all of my other changes to the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taliesin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Overall, I think this recipe makes a good template for a sausage casserole and would make it again with a few tweaks "to taste". As it is, it is a little bit on the bland side, great for pickier eater though so if there are people eating who like milder flavors, this is great. I made a few changes to test try and found I like the more robust flavor better. I used sharp cheddar instead of mild cheddar. I also sprinkled some cheddar cheese on top to make a crust. I increased the recipe to 8 eggs with a pre-baked the potato shell as previous reviewers suggested with shredded hash browns. I also added diced green and orange bell peppers. By mistake I bought a pineapple cottage cheese and had my daughter measure and add that ingredient. She put half of the amount in before I realized the mistake and ended up substituting the other half of the cottage cheese with plain Greek yogurt. The basic recipe is pretty forgiving, and to cut the sweetness of the pineapple, I added a little dash of hot sauce. This version turned out pretty spectacular. As I said, the original recipe is a good starter template for a custom sausage casserole. I just like a brighter flavor. I would suggest adding fresh herbs to garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Made at Joey and Nicole's for Easter, 2015
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 684) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States