Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
We love this for breakfast or dinner! I have made it several times, and the only changes I've made were to use real potatoes chopped in little squares instead of the frozen hash browns I assumed the recipe called for. I see now that the recipe doesn't say anything about prepackaged potatoes. I also omitted the butter on accident the first time and found we liked it without. I also add a little salt and pepper to the egg mixture. Overall it's a superb recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
GREAT! The only change was cooking the potatoes for 30 minutes at 375 before adding the egg mixture. Also used 8 eggs. I also cooked chopped green onion with the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I made this one weekend for my sister so she could have food for the work week. That was over a month ago and she continues to ask for this dish. It's awesome! She's still a picky eater as an adult so whenever she asks for a meal repeatedly, it must be awesome. I used green onion sausage that's sold at a local grocery store. Pretty much the only change I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Great recipe! I've increased the potatoes (used frozen o'brien hash browns) and added a couple extra eggs. I pre-bake the potato crust the night before, let it cool, pour the egg mixture over the top, and refrigerate it overnight. In the morning I pop it in the oven while it heats up (used a glass pan). It is great! Don't worry if you aren't a fan of cottage cheese, you can't recognize it. Also, to make it even easier/healthier, I used Jimmy Deans precooked/crumbled turkey sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Excellent recipe exactly as is. I like to add jalapenos to give it a little spice. Sometimes I use bacon instead of sausage, sometimes I use both. So far, whatever substitutions I've made have all tasted good. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I used 93% lean hamburger for this rather than sausage, and it was truly delicious! I even used non fat cottage cheese and non fat cheddar and it was still great. We love this for breakfast, lunch or dinner! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Brady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Easy to make in advance and bake the morning of, and the leftovers are just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
One of my kids go-to favorite. I also precook the hashbrowns. I have made this with parboiled sliced potatoes as well as mashed depending on the kids' request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Great recipe! Everyone was a fan of this casserole. I used turkey sausage instead of sage breakfast sausage, and used medium cheddar instead of mild. Great casserole! I did find it tasted even better when served with salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
LOVED IT! The 3-year-old ate every bit - PERFECT. My only tweak was putting in some leftover fried zucchini and rice from the previous night's dinner. I did boil the potato about 30 min. prior to shredding it, since it was a big potato. I don't know if I should publish this or not, but hubby had HORRIBLE FLATULENCE after eating... so bad that he would not dare eat it the next day at work for lunch :( But he loved it the night of cooking - eating two helpings. [3-year-old and I weren't affected in the same manner - LOL!!]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 678) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States