Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This recipe was pretty delicious! This is what I did - considering the reviews and the original recipe; with some modifications - I took 1 pound of lean ground beef and cooked it on a skillet with half of a sliced onion. I added some sage, paprika, a bit of spice (I added a bit of cajun spice - just to make it spicy and mimic "sausage"). I preheated the oven and put frozen shredded potatoes in a casserole dish; mixed it with the melted butter (just melted half of the amount of listed butter in recipe in microwave for 30 seconds) and popped it in the oven to let the potatoes crisp up before adding the egg mixture. I added 8 eggs (instead of 6, per reviews) and ADD salt and pepper - it was not mentioned in original recipe. I used cottage cheese - I thought the texture was great in the end result. I used a four-cheese shredded cheese. I baked it for 45 minutes - pierced a fork through the middle; you'll be able to tell it's cooked because everything is smoothly browned. Make sure to salt and pepper the shredded potatoes as well - I did not, and the was the only thing I could say was "off." It was AWESOME though!! Super good recipe! **You could make a healthier version if you added some green pepper, red pepper to the onion when browning the beef. You could also cut down the butter listed in the recipe and just make sure there's enough to coat the bottom. Also - drain the meat after (you could sub the meat. with ground turkey!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This is my favorite breakfast casserole and my family is in agreement. I don't like the ones with the bread or croutons so this one is perfect with the hash browns. It's great the second day too! I didn't alter anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This is my go-to breakfast casserole. I always use frozen has Browns that I thaw and partially pre-bake as a crust before adding the additional ingredients. I tried it using ricotta cheese once and it came out spongy with a much drier texture. I definitely prefer cottage cheese. The cottage cheese makes for a much more moist texture. My husband LOVES when I make this casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLHill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Perfect for a pot luck breakfast! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Used pre-packaged (refrigerated) shredded potatoes, sharp cheddar, and 1/2 the cottage cheese. This is delicious served with a sweet/spicy salsa if you want a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This was a very good recipe. Taking the advice of others, I chose to tweak it by 9 x 12 glass casserole dish spraying it with cooking spray. Then I shredded a block of sharp cheese (16 oz.), browned and crumbled 1 lb. maple flavored sausage, cracked 12 large eggs and beat them, added 1 teasp salt, 1 teasp. dry mustard, 16 oz. of small curd 4% cottage cheese, and 3 cups of hash browns with onions (or half a bag of frozen hash browns - but defrosted). Mixed altogether, and baked uncovered for 1 hr.15 min, until the eggs were done (set), in the middle. Used as breakfast for a group of men camping out, and they loved it. Could serve with hot sauce, salsa or catsup, but very good just plain. Very tasty warmed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I seldom make "breakfast" type casseroles but while attempting to do the low carb thing with my diet...this recipe popped up in the search. I made it with some changes that others suggested in their reviews...added a couple of eggs and cooked the onion with the sausage. I used one package of the "Simply Potatoes" hash browns as the base as well. I also added some gruyere cheese with the cheddar. Not only was this casserole delicious last night for dinner...but it tasted just as great reheated this morning! WIN. Now I will put the leftovers in the freezer in single portions and see if the flavor manages the freezing process just as well. All in all a stellar recipe which I recommend whole heartedly. A hint on your cheese....grate it yourself, while this adds to the work a bit it will melt much more nicely. Those pre-packaged grated cheeses often dry out a bit or have an ingredient incorporated that helps prevent sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I added jalapenos, increased the eggs to 8, and used mild breakfast sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Quick, easy, delicious!! Need I say more?? Even my picky children love this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie_rain86

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This recipe is quick and easy. We usually make it after church, but we love it anytime! We typically used diced onions instead of shredded, but other than that it's amazing just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States