Sausage Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2000
I found this recipe to be disappointingly lacking in flavor. One that I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2001
This is absolutely delicious. It will probably become one of my family's favorites for years to come. I HIGHLY recommend you try this wonderful casserole. Scrumptious! Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
OK, the review I made is ONLY due to these modifications I made. Otherwise, the dish would be quite flavorless. 1.) Make sure you use hot/spicy sausage. I recommend 1.5-2 lbs rather than the one the recipe calls for. Also, fry it up (at least a little) before putting it in the casserole, or else you will just have big balls of sausage rather than smaller pieces. 2.) After all ingredients are placed in the dish, top with a jar of your favorite spaghetti sauce (this gives a little flavor and also some dipping sauce.) 3.) Slice potatoes very thin, and above all, COOK FOR 1.5 HOURS, NOT JUST 1 (this ensures sausage is cooked all the way and also potatoes are not crunchy)!! 4.) Serve with cheese sprinkled on top. Rolls or croussants go well also. This dish was amazing once I did all of this stuff. Otherwise it was bland and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
GORGEOUS. Didn't really follow the measurements, just added to taste over two large fillets. Completely yummy. The fish comes out so moist and falls away. I think the trick to the taste is choosing a really hot salsa. Two thumbs up, even from my hubby who was a bit suspicious of using mexican tastes over fish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
Tasted really good, but a little too watery. Next time I'll drain the corn first - at least partially. I also added tomato sauce over the top of the sausage after reading another reviewer's opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I gave this recipe the rating I did only because of the modifications I made as well. If I had cooked it as is it would have gotten no more than a 2. I followed another poster’s advice and used hot sausage and spaghetti sauce too. I did not have time to bake this for almost two hours so I sautéed sausage and onions, and cooked the sliced potatoes in the microwave until tender. All ingredients were fully cooked when I assembled the casserole. I added sliced mozzarella cheese to the top and cooked at 350 for half an hour. It was wonderful. I decided not to put the corn in (didn’t think it would taste right) but opted to use it as a side dish with salt pepper, butter and oregano. I got lots of raves about both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
This was very good! Used Bob Evans (the best!) regular sausage. Thinly sliced the potatos, more or less chopped the onions (prefer that way!), used frozen corn, and voila! One hour later we had a great supper. Served it with a dollop of sour cream and mmm mmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
My family thought this one was great. I madw some changes though, I microwaved the potatoes first, and cooked the onions and sausage before putting it all together. I put a Mexican twist on the recipe by adding salsa, green peppers and I topped it with chedder cheese and sour cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
Went with the general consensus and modified the recipe as previous reviewers suggested. I used all of my mozzarella on a separate appetizer the night before and only had monterey jack, but it was still tasty! And I used the recommendations of the spaghetti sauce, the browning the sausage and onions as well as cooking the potatoes prior to assembling the casserole. A previous reviewer made mention of the corn side dish with oregano. I love fresh oregano!!! I took that suggestion and it was a nice side dish that complemented the meal quite nicely. As an afterthought, it seemed like the newly created sauce, with the spaghetti sauce, sausage, onions and etc, really had a promising start for a good lasagna sauce! I'll have to tweak that a bit and see what I come up with. Thank you for all of the previous reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akfilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maron Di Brugnera, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I gave this 2 stars because it's edible but not something I'd want to make again and I even tried it with the spaghetti sauce and cheese like the previous reviewer said and it still didn't do anything for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States