Sausage Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
My family thought this one was great. I madw some changes though, I microwaved the potatoes first, and cooked the onions and sausage before putting it all together. I put a Mexican twist on the recipe by adding salsa, green peppers and I topped it with chedder cheese and sour cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
This was very good! Used Bob Evans (the best!) regular sausage. Thinly sliced the potatos, more or less chopped the onions (prefer that way!), used frozen corn, and voila! One hour later we had a great supper. Served it with a dollop of sour cream and mmm mmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I gave this recipe the rating I did only because of the modifications I made as well. If I had cooked it as is it would have gotten no more than a 2. I followed another poster’s advice and used hot sausage and spaghetti sauce too. I did not have time to bake this for almost two hours so I sautéed sausage and onions, and cooked the sliced potatoes in the microwave until tender. All ingredients were fully cooked when I assembled the casserole. I added sliced mozzarella cheese to the top and cooked at 350 for half an hour. It was wonderful. I decided not to put the corn in (didn’t think it would taste right) but opted to use it as a side dish with salt pepper, butter and oregano. I got lots of raves about both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
Tasted really good, but a little too watery. Next time I'll drain the corn first - at least partially. I also added tomato sauce over the top of the sausage after reading another reviewer's opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
GORGEOUS. Didn't really follow the measurements, just added to taste over two large fillets. Completely yummy. The fish comes out so moist and falls away. I think the trick to the taste is choosing a really hot salsa. Two thumbs up, even from my hubby who was a bit suspicious of using mexican tastes over fish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
OK, the review I made is ONLY due to these modifications I made. Otherwise, the dish would be quite flavorless. 1.) Make sure you use hot/spicy sausage. I recommend 1.5-2 lbs rather than the one the recipe calls for. Also, fry it up (at least a little) before putting it in the casserole, or else you will just have big balls of sausage rather than smaller pieces. 2.) After all ingredients are placed in the dish, top with a jar of your favorite spaghetti sauce (this gives a little flavor and also some dipping sauce.) 3.) Slice potatoes very thin, and above all, COOK FOR 1.5 HOURS, NOT JUST 1 (this ensures sausage is cooked all the way and also potatoes are not crunchy)!! 4.) Serve with cheese sprinkled on top. Rolls or croussants go well also. This dish was amazing once I did all of this stuff. Otherwise it was bland and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2001
This is absolutely delicious. It will probably become one of my family's favorites for years to come. I HIGHLY recommend you try this wonderful casserole. Scrumptious! Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2000
I found this recipe to be disappointingly lacking in flavor. One that I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States