Sausage Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
This has become one of our go to favorites. Its so easy and simple to make, yet very tasty. Variations I've made when preparing it: 1) I always cook it 1.5 - 2 hours instead of 1 so the potatoes are more tender. 2) I generally end up just chopping the whole onion in one of those veggie choppers (I hate cutting unions by hand), and spread them out over the potatoes, and that has worked well. 3) I usually add two extra cans of diced tomatoes (for a total of 3 cans), or if I have extra tomato sauce on hand I'll spoon in extra to cover the bare spots(as one can generally isn't nearly as much as I like). 4) I've occasionally replaced about half of the potatoes with sliced zucchini (when I happened to have extra on hand), and it actually turned out well. 5) Sometimes I'll add a bit of garlic in with the onions, or salt the potatoes first with garlic salt (though I've done it either way, and its fine without).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I sort of really changed this recipe into a super heathly delish spicy dish. I used a spicy chicken brat sausage, sliced up, and sauted with onions & mushroons (yellow pepper would be great too, but my husband doesn't like them) . I also cooked 4 servings of brown rice. I put the brown rice on the bottom of 9x13, put the sausage mixture on top, then covered that with a can of rotel tomatoes. This definitely needed some sour cream to cool it off a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Hubby and I loved this recipe tonight. I used 2 cans of Rotel tomatoes instead of the diced tomatoes. I also microwaved the potatoes and baked the casserole for 45 minutes. In addition, I drained a little of the water from the corn and some from the Rotel. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Luved this!!! I did cover the sausage with 1 can of spaghetti meat sauce and; topped with chedder cheese the last 15 minutes of cooking ;served with sour cream to the side and italian bread. Increased cooking time to 1 hour 45 minutes...SCRUMPTIOUS...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
super easy prep -- used very seasoned sausage & italian seasoning (1 tbls) -- will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I precooked the pork and microwaved the potatos ahead of time (as suggested by other reviewers). It still seemed to take a little while. I was also surprised the recipe didn't call for more seasoning. Iw ent ahead and seasoned the pork sausage when I was browning it - adding some garlic, salt pepper, and red chili flakes. I also used a can of diced tomatos with jalapenos and it seemed to add a little more kick. Even with all that my boyfriend complianed the potatos tasted bland. I crumbled some jalepeno flavored tortilla chips over the top for a little crunch too. I like it, but it needed some serious "tweeking."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was great however I definitely made some changes. I used pork sausage with hatch green chiles and I did saute it first. Cooked the potatoes slightly before also just to speed up the baking. I also used a can of Rotel. tomatoes with green chiles instead of plain tomatoes. Only thing I would do different next time is use fresh tomatoes with fresh roasted green chiles (I always have some in the freezer) instead of the canned. With the green chiles in this the flavor was wonderful. Be sure to slice the onions thin so they will cook. My family loved it. Topped with a little sour cream also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Taos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I normally read reviews before trying out a new recipes. This time I failed to do so. I decided to try this recipe out 45mins before it was time for my husband to leave for work (he works 2nd shift) and I followed it to a "t". Five minutes before it was suppose to be ready. I checked it to see if it was ready...I was shocked. It was not close to being ready. I had to rush and prepare something else for him. I have learned my lesson. Always, always read other reviews and strongly consider their advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I gave this 2 stars because it's edible but not something I'd want to make again and I even tried it with the spaghetti sauce and cheese like the previous reviewer said and it still didn't do anything for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
Went with the general consensus and modified the recipe as previous reviewers suggested. I used all of my mozzarella on a separate appetizer the night before and only had monterey jack, but it was still tasty! And I used the recommendations of the spaghetti sauce, the browning the sausage and onions as well as cooking the potatoes prior to assembling the casserole. A previous reviewer made mention of the corn side dish with oregano. I love fresh oregano!!! I took that suggestion and it was a nice side dish that complemented the meal quite nicely. As an afterthought, it seemed like the newly created sauce, with the spaghetti sauce, sausage, onions and etc, really had a promising start for a good lasagna sauce! I'll have to tweak that a bit and see what I come up with. Thank you for all of the previous reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akfilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maron Di Brugnera, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States