Sausage Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I made this recipe on a dare. The smell this recipe gives off is volatile, raw meat goes into the mix with a huge amount of coffee, and the spices are so far off. I highly suggest never making this cake. Also, there is no recipe on the web for sausage ice cream however, there are recipes for bacon ice cream and mustard ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I made this as a "gag" birthday cake for a sausage-themed birthday dinner, but it was surprisingly good. Everyone seemed to think it tasted like a date nut bread. We had it for dessert and again for breakfast the next morning. I sprinkled power sugar on top to dress it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Yay! I had this recipe in the booklet that came with my Bundt pan and was heartbroken when I lost it. I always got raves (and a few puzzled 'what is in this - it's delicious!') when I made it for parties. It'll be great to make it again!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slywlf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
ran across this recipe by accident, and just had to try it. Made as recipe as directed except per other recipes on the net I changed the spices a bit to 2t cinnamon, 1/2t allspice, 1/2t cloves. and 1/2t nutmeg. Brought it to work this morning for my coworkers to try. It really tastes like a spice cake, can't taste the sausage or the coffee in it, except it does have a different texture, maybe from the sausage. I drizzled the top with a glaze of powdered sugar, touch of milk and vanilla (per other internet recipes). Average review from work: 2 1/2 stars, most workers said it was "good" but not something they would beg me to make again. Hope this helps those of you that were skeptical. Also, baked at 350 degrees and was completely done in 1 hour not the stated 1 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
We have made this and we love it in our home. It is easy to modify with whatever dried fruit or nuts you may have on hand. We have not yet tried the sausage ice cream though (wink) Be brave, be bold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
Ummmmm... sausage ice cream?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This is not a joke. I searched & found 122 websites with this recipe. Apparently it is a breakfast food. Some people like a pancake wrapped around a sausage, or maple syrup flavored sausages. I guess this is along those lines. I don't know about that sausage ice cream though. Sounds really weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
Is this a joke???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States