Sausage Brunch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Excellent. I made mine the night before. I baked the cresent dough for 10 min at 425, and then poured the sausage/egg mixture over it and refrigerated. I baked the next morning at 425 for 30 minutes and it was perfect. Served it with homemade sausage gravy. Yum! Even the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I've made this casserole several times and everyone loves it! The guys in my family especially like it. I would highly recommend it for company! It's a hearty breakfast/brunch that is easy to put together and sure to please! I have found that I need to bake the casserole almost twice as long as the recipe calls for otherwise the eggs don't set up and the center is runny and pretty disgusting. Bake it till the eggs set in the middle and the edges are lightly browned. Then I let it sit on the counter for about 10 minutes before serving and you are in for a devine breakfast. I serve with a fresh fruit salad and OJ. YUM-YUM-YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
Took this for a MOPS meeting recently everyone loved it!! I did change a few things though. I used ham instead of sausage and used a cheddar-jack blend cheese. Mixed the egg mixture night before and stored it in the fridge. The next morning I baked the crescent rolls for about 5 minutes before pouring on egg mixture. Turned out perfect! Thanks for such an easy, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
This recipe was really great. The eggs came out really light and fluffy and the taste was good. However, the crescent roll dough at the bottom was still uncooked when the rest of the dish was fully cooked. My father suggested cooking the crescent rolls at the bottom of the pan first and then adding the rest of the ingredients and baking again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ringoes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
I followed the suggestions of others and cut the sausage back to 1 pound, and used one less egg to help it set up. Now that I'm a vegetarian, I still enjoy this recipe--I simply substitute a pound of "Gimme Lean" brand vegetarian "sausage" instead. It still turns out great, and even my non-vegetarian friends and family give it rave reviews! (It cuts a lot of the fat out, as well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
So easy and so delicious. I added onions and some more pepper like suggested. I also put the crescent rolls in for about 5 minutes before adding the egg mixture. It turned out great and everyone loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
This was great. I wanted more egg and less sausage so I used 8 eggs, 1 1/2 c. milk, 1 lb. of sausage. I had cheddar cheese so I used that (still 2 c.). I added fresh chopped chives, diced red pepper, about 1/2 t. dry mustard, a dash of paprika and a sprinkle of dried parsley. It took about 25 min. to cook. I baked it at 425 for 5 min. then turned it down to 400 for the rest of the time. I took it to a mom's group meeting and it was gone so fast. I even had ladies asking for the recipe! This one is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Montesano, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Delicious and easy. I used the Jimmy Dean Maple sausage - 1 pound definitely enough - and received many compliments. I cooked the crescent crust the night before, made it so easy for me to bake and take to work in the morning. This will definitely be a standard - and I can see future substitutions of veggies, bacon or whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This is very good and easy. I used 1 lb hot breakfast sausage and 1/2 lb mild. Next time, I'll go with 50/50. It did take a bit longer to cook 20-25 minutes. **UPDATE**I've made this several times and the last one was the best. While the sausage is cooking, mix the eggs, milk, and cheese together and let it sit. The cheese seems to "absorb" quite a bit of the liquid so that when you pour the whole mixture over the crescents, it's thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makeiteasy4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
Very good recipe and well liked by my whole family. I used breakfast turkey sausage patties, yolkless eggs from the carton and cheddar cheese. I took the advice from another reviewer and baked the dough for about ten minutes before adding the other ingredients. I found that the bake time seemed a little off. It took my eggs about thirty minutes to set up. Very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States