Sausage Bowties with Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
With all the ingredients listed, you would think that this pasta is very heavy. Everything blended together perfectly; not too heavy of a meal and not too light. I personally made only half the amount of farfalle pasta listed. Perfect dinner with a delicious taste! I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERPARK253
Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
My store was out of broccoli rabe, so i used spinach instead. All six at dinner were crazy for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I wasn't sure about this recipe because I have never cooked anything with artichokes before but we were pleasantly surprised. Only thing I did different was add some soy sauce on top after being served into bowls. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
In my small towns, they never heard of broccoli rabe. So I used broccoli. The flavors of this dish are wonderful - the richness of the artichoke with the slight sweetness of the roasted red peppers and the saltiness of the sausage... very nice. The broccoli gives it a nice contrasting color, too, making it very pretty. It helps, too, that I could serve it in one of my favorite pottery dishes. The only difference I made besides the broccoli rabe was I used fresh Romano cheese as that is what I have open. My husband and son gave it a four but I give it the full five! I will definitely make this again - especially when I have guests over. It's pretty, simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
We used regular broccoli instead of the rabe and regular white onions sauteed instead of the shallots (just had to use what I had). It was great! It was a nice change from the regular old thing. Many recipes are boring, and I find I have to play with recipes to make them more interesting. Not with this recipe though, the spicy sausage and other ingredients are all you need for full flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This dish was so easy to prepare. I used frozen broccoli because I forgot the fresh stuff when I was at the grocery store:( I did not add any pasta water to moisten as suggested and liked the clean taste without it. I will definitely make this again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This was amazing! I completely forgot to pick up shallots, so I used half a vidalia onion instead. Those who did not use broccoli rabe...you missed out! Broccoli tastes nothing like rabe. I halved the amounts of pasta, rabe, and red pepper. I ended up only needing a splash of water at the end to moisten. I'll def be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skaparker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
To make this dish more healthy I used turkey sausage and whole grain penne pasta. I didn't have fresh broccoli so I substituted frozen. It turned out great. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
It was perfect. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
We Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States