Sausage Biscuits and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ibbz
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Gravy is just right. Not too thick or thin. I added some sauted mushrooms and onions. Over the Pillsbury Grand Biscuits and my southern raised husband gave it a 2 thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Janet Henderson
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Perfect! Loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
FANTASTIC even good for a new cook. I had sausage, biscuits and gravy a long time ago while I was on the road. I always tried to find a place that made it like that again but never could. I have never tried making brown gravy before and was skeptical about trying. This recipe was PERFECT and I even forgot to add the tsp of butter. My family went nuts over it. Thank you for the great recipe addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xflatkds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This recipe was perfect as is. Best I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This was so amazing! I made it for my family yesterday and they all loved it. My little brother kept saying that he wasn't going to eat it because he HATES gravy (he's only eaten the canned gravy which isn't the best). I made him try just a little bit and he ate so much because he thought it was delicious. I will definitely be using this recipe again. THANKS SO MUCH! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
A-MAZING!!!!!!!!! Absolutely hands down delicious!!!!!!! The gravy is smooth and creamy and the hint of butter is so comforting and just screams 'home'! I could eat it by the spoonful! I used regular pork sausage just because that is what I had and it was wonderful! Wouldn't change a thing! I made drop biscuits instead of pillsbury biscuits. Very simple 'upgrade'. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
WOW!! This was really good stuff. Make sure you get MAPLE sausage for a terrific flavor. Good thing I wasn't alone or I would have eaten it all myself! Amazing!!! UPDATE: If you don't have maple sausage you could add a little syrup to the sausage to give it the maple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This is excellent. I tried it tonight for the first time & my husbands eyes rolled to heaven. I used what I had which was bisquick biscuits, oh so tender & delicious, A breakfast sausage that was savory, I did not add the maple syrup as was suggested because I do not like maple syrup, not even on pancakes, & 1/2 cup of half & half & 2 cups of milk. It was the perfect consistency & the tsp of butter added more richness to it. We loved it & my honey said it was a keeper...Ladynightmare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
best gravy recipe yet!! Followed it to a T! Perfect! Takes a while to get thick but worth the wait! I make my own homemade herb biscuits and it was an awesome combo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Found that this calls for too much milk after the can of evaporated - too late to save it, so had to add quite a bit of flour to make it thicken, which changed the flavor. Tried it again on another weekend, adding only 1/2 cup milk after the evaporated milk, which was just right. Also, added the butter before adding the flour. As written, however, we found it too thin and milky, tasting more like that from a restaurant trying to cut corners and stretch the sausage for more servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States