Sausage Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This is a hearty very tasty soup! My husband and I loved it. I will definitely make it again. I would add another 24 oz of broth. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
This recipe was delicious! I followed the advice of some other reviewers and used 8 cups of chicken broth (instead of 6 cups), hot Italian sausage, fresh spinach, and I added mushrooms. I didn't add the fresh spinach to the slow cooker until an hour before it was done so it was no so soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
DD complained about the "yucky spinach " as she ate the whole thing. the spinach flavor was not very noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Pretty good soup. Not one of my favorites, but pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
A wonderful winter warmer. I added 8 oz of sauteed mushrooms, tripled the barley and used a little cornstarch to thicken it. I also used fresh spinach instead of frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Excellent! I used hot turkey sausage, doubled the barley and garlic. Delicious with French bread. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This soup is VERY tasty. I used chicken sausage, extra carrots and added a few potatoes and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Wonderful soup! I used hot Italian sausage, added an extra carrot and doubled the barley, per reviews. Next time I will substitute kale for the spinach because it does hold up better to long cooking (spinach was indeed a little slimy). This was pretty spicy so I imagine you could use sweet Italian sausage and add a small amount of red pepper flakes to spice it up just a little if hot sausage is too hot for your taste. We loved it and will definitely make this again. A great crock pot recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I halved recipe using just 1 spicy Italian sausage (crumbled). As written, I'd have to give it a 4* (for our taste buds anyway). Ended up throwing in a chunk of parm cheese rind which really gave it a boost of flavor, but it was still missing something. Finally threw in a handful or two of cooked small shell pasta which really turned it into more of a stew ... but it was delicious. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
In one word, AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States