Sausage Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
What can you say about something as quick and easy as sausage balls? That they're yummy and fun to make as well! Being a novice in the kitchen, I frequently turn to quick menu items such as this. This is the second time I've made sausage balls from this recipe and love it's simplicity and you can reduce recipe or increase the portions right on the site so no math involved in the kitchen! The only drawback to this meal is all the kneading and squishing you have to do to mix it. Kids would love it! My prep time for the full recipe was 15 minutes and now they're in the oven - soon we will be enjoying a wonderful brunch of sausage balls and coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
I remember these when I was a kid--going over to my friend's house on Christmas day and eating these by the dozens!! This was a very easy recipe to follow. I made a half batch, which is good because I got about 32 sausage balls out of it!! I used mild cheddar cheese and hickory smoked sausage (Jimmy Dean) and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANNARAMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Haven, Virginia, USA
Living In: Huachuca City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
I really enjoy these, But hubby is picky. So he didn't.But I would say overall these are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
These sausage balls were so good. With 6 children, I don't cook spicy for them, but I did add a bit of black pepper and some dried chives to add some flavor. However, I had to change the baking a bit. The first batch I made came out SOO greasy (of course using uncooked sausage), even after laying them on a paper towel to drain and cool. I took my cooling rack and placed it on a cookie sheet, then put the unbaked sausage balls on that. When they cooked, the grease dripped down through the cooling rack into the pan below. Because of the drippings, you will need to get a spatula to get them off the rack, but cooking them this way they have yet to burn!! I cooked them for 25 minutes or so instead of 10 minutes like the recipe says. After cooking them like this, my husband tasted them and said they were the best tasting sausage balls he had ever had. My children ate them as fast as I was making them!! I will be cooking them this way from now on. We had these for Thanksgiving appetizers this morning!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
698 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovemyfamily09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I have made this for years, butnever put onions in them. The onions really add a nice flavor. I thought the mixture was a good combination of ingredients and had no problem putting them together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
I see so many reviews that say "this was dry.. not enough liquid", but if anyone actually read the instructions, they would see that nowhere it says to pre-cook the sausage. Its supposed to be raw. I guess the person who added it should have clarified that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
349 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
Delicious and easy! I even prepared everything the night before, let it set in the fridge and popped them in the oven the next morning...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
This is always a crowd pleaser. My family loves a little spice, so I use hot sausage,or use half regular and half hot for the 'not so bold' guests. It is easy to make these ahead and pop in the microwave to serve warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STREEVES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
I tried this recipe but with one change..use stove top stuffing instead of baking mix..it adds so much flavor!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
My family asks me to make these EVERY year for the holidays..Remember NOT to cook the sausage first! I generally use 3 cups of Bisquick so they'll be less greasy, and finely chopped onions make it a bit more flavorful...Like someone else suggested, I also use 1/2 regular and 1/2 hot saugage...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States