Sausage Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
These were really good but the mix was so dry I had a hard time getting it to come together so I ended up adding 1 egg and it was much easier to work with. These were simple and easy and I used Jimmy Dean hot sausage and they had a nice heat without being really hot. I dipped mine in syrup but my husband suggested syrup as they seem to just need a sauce for dipping like gravy? Very good, I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
For years my sausage balls cooked too brown before they were throughly baked. Since I started baking them on top of an inverted cookie sheet they brown perfectly every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
A little added twist to these tried and true gems! Cut the cheddar cheese back to 12 oz. (3/4 lb.) and add in 4 oz. cream cheese. Adds a little "zip" in the taste, but mostly it keeps the sausage balls a little more moist when cooking to make sure the sausage balls are cooked enough in the middle. No complaints just as they are and would certainly not let the lack of having cream cheese stop me from making them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara Dailey
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Dailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
These little bites of porky goodness are excellent. Quick and easy to make and they hold well in a warmer so you can enjoy the party too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paradise Lost

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I just tried this version of Sausage Balls today and LOVE it! I have always thought sausage balls were a bit dry and now I know why. Not pre-cooking the sausage is the secret. I made the recipe as written except I used turkey sausage and I can't tell the difference. I baked them for 20 minutes to make sure the sausage was cooked and they were great. My husband loves them. In fact, he said he could sit down and eat almost every one of them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Love these! My recipe called for 3 cups bisquick, and 2 cups works much better. I'm putting this one in my recipe box! Thank you for the tip to use my dough hook on my Kitchen Aide Mixer - fabulous. Biggest problem is trying to get them in the container without eating too many :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlynp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I got this recipe when I was a child from an older southern lady at my church. She made these up in huge batches and kept them in the freezer for when guests came by. You never left that house without a sausage ball! I like to make them with hot sausage (I like Jimmy Dean) and just a little less cheese, maybe 12 oz. DO NOT cook the sausage! It takes a while to get it all incorporated, but start with room temp. sausage and just get in there with your hands. The heat from your hands helps everything to combine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
These are exactly what I remember eating over 30 years ago...they still are one of the best appetizers!! Took them to our family's Christmas gathering today...not a one left :) Thanks for reminding me of this recipe!! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 665) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States